Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This chocolate ice cream is incredible. It's rich and creamy and if you follow the recipe exactly it will be perfect. I had no problems. Used a cuisinart ice cream machine. I've tried several chocolate ice cream recipes and this is a keeper. I'm trying to find any other ice cream recipes WENDYWR has on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was very yummy, rich and creamy. I would not change a thing. I had no trouble getting it to freeze as others have commented on. Perhaps it's because I put the chocolate mixture in the freezer for about 2-1/2 hours to get it really cold before mixing with the heavy cream. It was not frozen but just really cold before I put in my ice cream maker. My husband said it was "excellent". We ate it with toasted slivered almonds and a touch of whipped cream. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Outstanding recipe. Made this twice this week, once with heavy cream and once with half and half. No problems at all with this freezing up even with my rinky-dink little ice cream maker. I added an extra ounce of dark chocolate and extra tablespoon of cocoa to each batch. I did put this through a sieve as recommended by others and also took another's suggestion to cool it in a pan of ice water for a few minutes rather than chill for 2 hours. This is now my go to recipe for chocolate ice cream. I did use shaved ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate for the second batch...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is awesome! I had never made chocolate ice cream, only vanilla. This was the first recipe I tried and will be my staple from now on. The texture is so silky smooth, almost seems whipped. My daughter said "I don't even like chocolate ice cream and this is delicious!" This is true, child has never eaten chocolate ice cream in her life and is going through this like crazy. I followed the recipe exactly and had no issues. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
great chocolate icecream I added something special to the chocolate icecream cocoa nibs I wanted a little crunch and they are perfect in this icecream and I also added extra chocolate chips which where dark chocolate I love dark chocolate icecream it is not to sweet yet hits the sweet tooth love it great recipe give it a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Amazing. I substituted full-fat coconut milk (Royal Blossom brand) for the milk and cream. It's a great way to have a non-milk ice cream and is JUST as creamy. It is so good! And I love that it's not too sweet. I'm going to make a 2nd batch tomorrow. This is THE chocolate ice cream for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The custard froze to the perfect consistency and remained decadently sweet. As other reviewers have noted, you have to be precise when making the custard, and cannot rush it! Also, if you deviate from the ingredients (lower fat content for instance) your custard will not have the same consistency after freezing. This is true for any ice cream recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Wonderful, I used 3.5oz of bittersweet chocolate and strained the mixture before freezing. No problems at all. Pretty much a standard ice cream recipe. It doesn't get any better than this. Use the best ingredients and properly combine, don't over cook, 172F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I really like this ice cream. BUT Its so rich that I could only eat one scoop. WHY? Its soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I just made this today and it's fantastic! It's definitely the best homemade ice cream that I've made. In fact, we're supposed to serve it tonight for dessert with friends and my husband wants me to keep it all for us. I'm making back-up brownies to serve to our guests now. :-) I followed the directions exactly except that rather than refrigerating for 2 hours, I put in the freezer for about an hour because I was short on time. I used plain old, Nestle mini chocolate chips because that's what I had on hand and it turned out great. I can't wait to try again with better quality dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States