Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Love this recipe. The texture is rich, creamy and decedant it also adapts well to other flavors. I have made chocolate, spiced ginger peach, mint chip, strawberry and coffee flavor with this base recipe and I haven't had a hitch yet. Although I will say the two crucial steps are tempering the eggs and letting the milk mixture completely chill. Another step I add is straining the milk/egg before chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Very wonderful chocolate ice cream! Thank you for the recipe. After reading the more helpful reviews we used 3 oz. of chocolate (nothing fancy, just baking chocolate I had on hand) and we added a step of straining the chocolate base after adding eggs and before adding the semi-sweet chocolate to the pan to melt and incorporate. There were some small lumps just from the egg white remnants that were clinging to the yolk when we added them for tempering. We were concerned we hadn't tempered properly, but straining did the trick. The result was fantastic and we will definitely be making this again. We have been making vanilla and variations for a long time but we are happy to now have a go-to recipe for chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The absolute best chocolate ice cream I've ever had in my life!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
OH.DEAR.GOD - This ice cream recipe is the best! I used half and half instead of the milk as others have done also. I put the mixture in the freezer for 1/2 hour before putting it in the ice cream maker - I'm new to the ice cream maker world and found this trick out after a failed batch wouldn't thicken. This thickened up with no problems. The texture is SOOO creamy. I swirled natural peanut butter in before final freeze. Yummy, yummy, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was very smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
best chocolate ice cream i've made,always consistent.also a good starter base for other flavours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Delicious! I had no issues with it - churning or ripening. It took about 45 minutes to set in my 4qt machine. After churning that long, it wasn't a particularly dense ice cream, but the texture was excellent, very creamy like a frozen mousse, and the taste was rich and substantial. It firmed up nicely during ripening. Next time, I may use half-and-half in place of the heavy cream, but the texture will probably suffer. I used melted bittersweet chips in place of the bar chocolate because I had half a bag I wanted to use up. I was afraid that the taste would suffer because I didn't use premium chocolate, but my fears were groundless. It was far better than anything I could have purchased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Perfect chocolate ice cream! Tastes like Rocky Road without all the other ingredients. Perfect texture, even after freezing for a few days (I did put seran wrap over top before the ice cream lid which helps). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
WOW! I am tempted to skip dinner and just dive in to this ice cream. I just finished making it in my new ice cream maker and it is fabulous! Be sure to use the best possible ingredients for the best product. I used Ghirardelli cocoa which is Dutch processed. I hadn't really planned ahead and the only semisweet chocolate I had was Hershey's mini chips and I did use three ounces as recommended by Naples. I also used very good vanilla extract. I poured the mixture through a sieve before chilling. I didn't have any problem with getting it to freeze. I suspect that those who did made one of three mistakes: Be sure to cook your mixture enough. It should be thick like chocolate pudding while it's cooking; Be sure to cool your mixture thoroughly. I left a stainless soup spoon in which conducts the heat out and makes it chill faster; Finally, you do have to make sure, if you use an ice cream maker with a frozen insert or bowl, that your insert or bowl is thoroughly frozen. I added miniature peanut butter cups cut in half at the end for chocolate peanut butter cup ice cream. I can tell from just tasting this as I put it into a container and into the freezer that this will be some of the best ice cream I have ever eaten (and, believe me, I have eaten more than my share of ice cream!). My waistline will suffer but my taste buds thank you WendyWR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This custard was velvety, buttery, and rich. The only thing I did differently was I took other reviewers' advice and was VERY careful about tempering the eggs. I took the saucepan with the cocoa/sugar mixture and stuck it in a sink of ice for a few minutes before SLOWLY adding the eggs. The only other step I did that wasn't listed was that I used a strainer as I poured my cooled mixture in the ice cream maker. It firmed up beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States