Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
O. M. G. This is amazing! I made it twice. The first time I used Hersheys special dark cocoa and ghiardelli dark chocolate. It was delicious. The second time I followed the directions exactly and it was also amazing. After I took it out of the ice cream maker, I drizzled melted chocolate (semi sweet, but you can use any) slowly into the ice cream while whisking it. It hardens like the chocolate does in stracciatella gelato and I really can't stress how good it tastes. Little bits of thin flaky chocolate. Yuuum. You would never know this ice cream is homemade. Not sure why people had trouble with it hardening. I didn't have issues either time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skater734

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I have been making ice cream for a while and I really love the texture of this ice cream. As for grainy texture there is none if mixed properly and not on a high temperature. I felt it was pretty easy to make and super easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by charcolmama
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe! My family love it very much. The first time I left the mixture in the machine too long, so the ice cream was watery. The original recipe is too sweet, so I cut down 1/3 of sugar for the second time. The second time was success. The ice cream is smooth and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I hadn't really given much thought to making chocolate ice cream until I saw this recipe. I wondered whether the texture and flavor would live up to my expectations of what I like in a chocolate ice cream...smooth and chocolaty. Happily, my family was all surprised how good the outcome of this was- never having "homemade" chocolate ice cream before! I'm not sure why others had the freezing problems. I think perhaps their base or ice cream freezer wasn't cold enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Great ice cream. Very creamy added an extra oz of chocolate as my husband is a chocoholic. This was first time I made it. Followed instructions, slowly tempered the egg yolks, strained the custard before putting it in refrigerator. Put in ice cream maker and came out as a firm soft serve ice cream. Put it in freezer for a couple of hours to harden a bit more (husband likes it best that way). However, I loved the firm soft serve taste and texture. Yum very smooth, creamy, and chocolate tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
GREAT Recipe!!! I have used this several times and have NEVER had a complaint.*TIP*(for those having a hard time getting it to freeze: #1 don't skimp on the salt in the ice (remember its the salt melting the ice and thus creating it to quickly release its cold energy and ability to achieve 17 degrees F. #2 "Age" the mixture overnight in fridge. # 3 freeze the canister before adding the mixture. I have also substituted heavy cream for half and half and had great results, as well. However, I must add, when I did so I also sprinkled in 1/8 tsp. of guar gum (can be bought @ any organic store) per batch. DONT OVER DO it tho, itll turn into marshmallow!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Amazing!! I actually put in a chopped up Hazelnut Milka Chocolate bar in place of the semi sweet chocolate, and it was SO good. Rave reviews. People didn't believe that it was handmade. Thanks for the great recipe!! Texture is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
We loved, loved this recipe. My son made the ice cream, but he used Nitrogen. He mixed it in a metal bowl, it took maybe, 10 mins. It was the very creamiest ice cream I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Marshall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
So incredibly rich I can't eat more than a tiny scoop. DH is raving about but I personally prefer something a little lighter. I think I'll try half & half for cream next time. Oh and I used the Ziploc bag method as an ice cream maker tub would just take up too much room in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is a great tasting recipe and super easy as well. I have made it twice and each time I have added more and more chocolate. The first time I added 100g(3.5oz) dark 70% cocoa chocolate (Lindt) and the second time I added 150g(5oz) of the same. I also saved a bit (1/3 cup) of the chocolate custard you have before adding the cream and swirled it through the ice cream before freezing it to set up. It is awesome and beautifully chocolaty. When finished in the ice cream machine it isn't super thick, more like a soft, softserve but bung it in the freezer straight from the machine and it firms up to a perfect ice cream. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States