Very Berry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
Really Yummy!!!! The addition of oats was a plus. My family really loves them. I like them a little sweeter, so I add 1/2 cup sugar. Have made them several times. Will make them again (as long as my berries last).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Very good. We upped the brown sugar to 1/2 cup, as suggested and used quick cooking oats. Not as much crunch as rolled oats would have given, but still very tasty. Lasted only one day in our house!!! Highly reccommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
This was a great muffin. If you are looking for something sweet - it's not here. Great flavor - I think adults more than children will love them. Gave half to my neighbor and she loved them also. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
We really liked these! I put raspberries in them and it was a perfect mix of sweet and tart. They aren't real sweet and go very well with coffee or tea. My children didn't care for them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I just made very berry muffins and was very pleased with the result. I did add the extra half cup of white sugar as one reviewer suggested, and I also used half blueberries and half raspberries. A very nice combination. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hiedi's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salamanca, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
These turned out great! Adding vanilla and 1/3 or 1/2 cup of sugar made them have an ideal amount of sweetness. I also added a bit of fresh ground nutmeg and ground cloves to give it more flavor. Don't skimp on the fruit either, add more if you like it won't hurt them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I generally cut the sugar in all recipes in half, but based on reviewers comments I used the full amount of sugar. I used mixed berries (raspberries, blackberries, and strawberries) tossed with 2 tablespoons of sugar. I made muffins and a mini bread loaf. My children and I loved it. But I could see most families needing more sugar. It really was not sweet, but we like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I gave this recipe 5 stars, conditional on the fact that I took others' advice and changed it around a bit. First of all, I doubled it to make 24 muffins. I guess I was certain the changes would make them good! And it worked. I increased the brown sugar from 1/2 c. to 3/4 c., so they were just a little bit sweet (perfect). I was generous with the berries, using a little more than called for. For the flour, I used 1 1/3 c. whole wheat, and 1 c. white flour. The oats I used were quick-cooking as well. I added a tsp. of vanilla and a pinch of nutmeg. I also folded in about 2/3 c. sliced almonds with the raspberries. These are delish with all the above mentioned changes! I never made the recipe in its original format, so I can't comment on that. But, if you want a healthy, hearty, mildly sweet muffin, the addendums I mentioned should get you that. Oh yes, one more thing, I did NOT bake them for 25-30 minutes as the recipe stated. In my oven, it only took 18 minutes! I would start checking them around 15-17 minutes just to be safe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenivive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
It depends on what you are looking for -- if you want a sweet muffin, this is not it. But if you like your muffins to taste more like the fruit that is in them and less like sugar, this is a very good recipe. In the words of my 3-year-old "yummy". In the words of my 7-year-old, "I can't decide if it is a 4 or a 5. It tastes more like raspberries than a muffin." I thought they were great. We did take others' advice and increased the brown sugar by 50%, as well as using half whole wheat flour. Raspberries were fresh. Good recipe -- we'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I thought these were delicious! I upped the brown sugar to 1/3 cup which was fine because I like to taste the berries more than the sugar. I also used the frozen berry mix from Costco (blueberries, raspberries, marion berries). I also did not mind that is was just oozing with berries - Yum! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States