Very Berry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I gave this recipe 5 stars, conditional on the fact that I took others' advice and changed it around a bit. First of all, I doubled it to make 24 muffins. I guess I was certain the changes would make them good! And it worked. I increased the brown sugar from 1/2 c. to 3/4 c., so they were just a little bit sweet (perfect). I was generous with the berries, using a little more than called for. For the flour, I used 1 1/3 c. whole wheat, and 1 c. white flour. The oats I used were quick-cooking as well. I added a tsp. of vanilla and a pinch of nutmeg. I also folded in about 2/3 c. sliced almonds with the raspberries. These are delish with all the above mentioned changes! I never made the recipe in its original format, so I can't comment on that. But, if you want a healthy, hearty, mildly sweet muffin, the addendums I mentioned should get you that. Oh yes, one more thing, I did NOT bake them for 25-30 minutes as the recipe stated. In my oven, it only took 18 minutes! I would start checking them around 15-17 minutes just to be safe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenivive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
A very good muffin- IMO. I changed a couple things- thanks, in part, to others' remarks. First, I used whole wheat flour, instead of all-purpose white. The texture is thicker, as you would imagine & we liked it, but you could go half & half for a more lighter muffin with the benefits of whole wheat. Instead of increasing the sugar amount, I coated the berries in white sugar (about 2 Tbs.) before adding. This seemed to be enough extra sweetnees for us. I also liked the nutmeg- and followed other's suggestions by 1/2 tsp. (Optional: 1 cup of finely chopped walnuts didn't change a thing but taste & texture- We are all "nuts" here, anyway. ;-) ) 25 mins bake time worked fine. I used the 'ole "Toothpick" method for doneness. One last suggestion for those with kids with a sweet-tooth: We either give them jelly to slather on them or a small bowl of apple sauce to use for dipping. Loved using this recipe for a good "base" for muffins! They freeze well, also! :-) Thanks "Min"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I added 1/2 cup of sugar to the recipe and used frozen blackberries and raspberries. they turned out very well. cooking them at a high temperature allows the outside to be crispy and the inside to be squishy. a really good muffin that you don't have to feel guilty about eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
I used frozen raspberries which made the muffins delicious. The oats give the muffins a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I did not change the recipe because I didn't want a sweet muffin for heath reasons, however I don't believe that this recipe was ever tested because these were more tasteless than a diet bran muffin, sorry! just had to say it . I doubled the recipe to freeze some for later used fresh berries- took one bite and tossed them in the can. My advice would be find another recipe. Too many changes would have to be made here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
I made these muffins with blackberries. I even put in some extra berries, but still were just too bland. No one in our house cared for them much. Maybe I did something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I love this recipe! I changed it a little by adding 1/2 cup more brown sugar and the berry flavor was enhanced a lot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIRATH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Good breakfast muffin. Not light and fluffy like I usually strive for in a muffin, these are a thick and hearty change of pace with the addition of oats. They rise nicely and are nicely complemented with the addition of raspberries. I soaked my oats in the milk and egg before blending the wet ingredients with sugar as another recipe directs, and baked 11 muffins at 350 for close to 20 min. I was glad that they weren't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
These were good but not my fav. I used a mix of raspberries and blueberries. Made all the usual subs (applesauce,some wholewheat flour). I'd rather use the "Berry Oatmeal Muffins" recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
Really Yummy!!!! The addition of oats was a plus. My family really loves them. I like them a little sweeter, so I add 1/2 cup sugar. Have made them several times. Will make them again (as long as my berries last).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States