Very Berry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I used mixed berries from the frozen foods aisle and added extra sugar as suggested. They were quite good but next time I think I wikll add a little lemon rind and cinnamon/nutmeg to bring out the flavors. They were all eaten and enjoyed by my family however and I love the added oatmeal in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWSAHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I generally cut the sugar in all recipes in half, but based on reviewers comments I used the full amount of sugar. I used mixed berries (raspberries, blackberries, and strawberries) tossed with 2 tablespoons of sugar. I made muffins and a mini bread loaf. My children and I loved it. But I could see most families needing more sugar. It really was not sweet, but we like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I added an extra 1/2 cup sugar (per many suggestions) and found these to be quite tasty! I used raspberries and blueberries (I used IQF berries). My co-workers also enjoyed them, especially as a breakfast muffin when you don't want something too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENLUCY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Very good. We upped the brown sugar to 1/2 cup, as suggested and used quick cooking oats. Not as much crunch as rolled oats would have given, but still very tasty. Lasted only one day in our house!!! Highly reccommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
These turned out great! Adding vanilla and 1/3 or 1/2 cup of sugar made them have an ideal amount of sweetness. I also added a bit of fresh ground nutmeg and ground cloves to give it more flavor. Don't skimp on the fruit either, add more if you like it won't hurt them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I used extra sugar in these, but they still weren't very sweet. They had a good texture but turned our really small. I don't know that I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
I made these muffins with blackberries. I even put in some extra berries, but still were just too bland. No one in our house cared for them much. Maybe I did something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I just made very berry muffins and was very pleased with the result. I did add the extra half cup of white sugar as one reviewer suggested, and I also used half blueberries and half raspberries. A very nice combination. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hiedi's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salamanca, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I added 1/2 cup of sugar to the recipe and used frozen blackberries and raspberries. they turned out very well. cooking them at a high temperature allows the outside to be crispy and the inside to be squishy. a really good muffin that you don't have to feel guilty about eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I really like the oats in these muffins. I agree with previous reviews that they aren't that sweet - I may a bit more sugar next time but, overall, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States