Very Berry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Houcks
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I reduced the berries to 1 cup, and used half red raspberries, and half black raspberries. 1 cup was almost too many, the berry taste was overwhelming. I agree with the other reviewers in that this wasn't sweet, more sugar would've been helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The only modifications I made were 1 c. ap flour and 1/3 whole wheat flour for the 1 1/3 ap flour and I used mixed fresh berries (raspberries, blue berries, black berries, and a few strawberries.) I DID think 1 TBS. of baking powder was excessive, but I don't like to change a recipe too much when I first try it. On a positive note, the muffins looked beautiful and the texture of the bread was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Sorry but I also wish I would have read reviews. Not very sweet. Everyone tried and one bite was it. Ended up throwing them all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I gave this recipe 5 stars, conditional on the fact that I took others' advice and changed it around a bit. First of all, I doubled it to make 24 muffins. I guess I was certain the changes would make them good! And it worked. I increased the brown sugar from 1/2 c. to 3/4 c., so they were just a little bit sweet (perfect). I was generous with the berries, using a little more than called for. For the flour, I used 1 1/3 c. whole wheat, and 1 c. white flour. The oats I used were quick-cooking as well. I added a tsp. of vanilla and a pinch of nutmeg. I also folded in about 2/3 c. sliced almonds with the raspberries. These are delish with all the above mentioned changes! I never made the recipe in its original format, so I can't comment on that. But, if you want a healthy, hearty, mildly sweet muffin, the addendums I mentioned should get you that. Oh yes, one more thing, I did NOT bake them for 25-30 minutes as the recipe stated. In my oven, it only took 18 minutes! I would start checking them around 15-17 minutes just to be safe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenivive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
These muffins tasted healthy...in my opinion, they are fine for an everyday muffin but nothing impressive that I would serve at a brunch to company. I increased the brown sugar to 1/3 cup, added 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can Can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
These were very yummy. Not too sweet at all like a lot of muffins out there; in fact, they reminded me of a mini bowl of oatmeal with some strawberries mixed in. :) *Due to my fiances cholesterol, I substituted 2 whites for the one egg and 3 tbs. applesauce for the oil.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUSSYFOOTER96

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
A very good muffin- IMO. I changed a couple things- thanks, in part, to others' remarks. First, I used whole wheat flour, instead of all-purpose white. The texture is thicker, as you would imagine & we liked it, but you could go half & half for a more lighter muffin with the benefits of whole wheat. Instead of increasing the sugar amount, I coated the berries in white sugar (about 2 Tbs.) before adding. This seemed to be enough extra sweetnees for us. I also liked the nutmeg- and followed other's suggestions by 1/2 tsp. (Optional: 1 cup of finely chopped walnuts didn't change a thing but taste & texture- We are all "nuts" here, anyway. ;-) ) 25 mins bake time worked fine. I used the 'ole "Toothpick" method for doneness. One last suggestion for those with kids with a sweet-tooth: We either give them jelly to slather on them or a small bowl of apple sauce to use for dipping. Loved using this recipe for a good "base" for muffins! They freeze well, also! :-) Thanks "Min"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This turned out great. I used a 10X13 pan, extra berries, 1c brown sugar, nutmeg, 1/2 tsp each almond and vanilla extracts. I baked for about 28 min.This would be great with a crumb topping either in a pan or muffins to give a little extra kick! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
I should have read the reviews...I just saw the 4 stars and printed it out and made them. Definitely needed more sugar. I tossed the whole batch - every one tried them but did not like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Very good. I used 1/4 c. more of brown sugar as suggested by others. I also used 1/2 c milk and 1/2 fat free vanilla yogurt instead of 1 c. milk. I found the baking time to be a bit long. I took mine out at 20 minutes and they were perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States