Very Berry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
adding a bit of brown sugar really helps this recipe. It's a favorite of all of my friends and now I can't have a brunch with out it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brit A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Loved this, so simple and very tasty. Loved that they weren't very sugary and a very healthy snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This is a really good muffin! I added around 2 1/2 cups of fresh raspberries, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. They were so good that every time I went to eat one I had to go back for a second! I found that they don't freeze very well though, and are best if eaten in the first couple days (which shouldn't be a problem!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Pretty good. I upped the brown sugar to 1/3 and used frozen raspberries. You definitely need to use non-stick spray in the pan or muffin cups. I didn't have any and just used a little oil rubbed into the tins and it stuck like crazy. But they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I was unsure about the sugar because I really didn't want sweet cupcake-like muffins, but at the same time, raspberries are fairly tart so I didn't want muffins that were inedible. In the end I decided to double the sugar and I'm glad I did. The resulting muffins were mildly sweet with excellent tart raspberry flavor. I also added 1/4 t nutmeg and 1/2 t salt to bring out the other flavors, and I used two pints of raspberries -- probably more like 1 1/2 cups. If you want raspberries in every bite, I recommend that amount (or maybe even more!). Overall a nice dense, chewy muffin that allows the raspberry flavor to shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
They were great, but I'm glad I heeded those reviewers who thought they needed to be sweeter! I used freshly picked mulberries, which aren't too sweet by themselves, and I added about 1/8 cup white sugar and drizzled honey on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
My husband and I loved these muffins so much that they did not make it to his office for this team brunch! Yes, that good! Like previous reviewers I did increase the sugar and add a little vanilla and nutmeg. They were perfect! I used a frozen berry mix from Costco (blueberries, raspberries and marion berries). 4 stars was given only because some modifications had to be made but the end result was 5 stars for sure! -VT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VallartaTiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
These were awful. What a waste of ingredients. I followed the recipe exactly. I usually read reviews but didn't take the time. I've learned my lesson. These even stuck to the paper liners. What a dissappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYNDEELYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
It depends on what you are looking for -- if you want a sweet muffin, this is not it. But if you like your muffins to taste more like the fruit that is in them and less like sugar, this is a very good recipe. In the words of my 3-year-old "yummy". In the words of my 7-year-old, "I can't decide if it is a 4 or a 5. It tastes more like raspberries than a muffin." I thought they were great. We did take others' advice and increased the brown sugar by 50%, as well as using half whole wheat flour. Raspberries were fresh. Good recipe -- we'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Yuck - these are awful. I wish I had read the reviews (I almost always do but was in a hurry). They are not nearly sweet enough (and I don't even like muffins that are too sweet) & 2 cups of berries is WAY too much. Using this amount of berries results in a muffin that is almost more berry than muffin. I used fresh raspberries, which was a big waste since the muffins are so yucky. Maybe salvagable with changes, but as it stands this recipe is not worth the time or ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States