Very Berry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I made these exactly as stated with the addition of 1tsp of vanilla extract. I made them for my hubby with some fresh raspberries that needed to be used. I set my timer for 20 minutes, glad I did, they were done! My fussy hubby said they were VERY good. That warrants a keep in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Good breakfast muffin. Not light and fluffy like I usually strive for in a muffin, these are a thick and hearty change of pace with the addition of oats. They rise nicely and are nicely complemented with the addition of raspberries. I soaked my oats in the milk and egg before blending the wet ingredients with sugar as another recipe directs, and baked 11 muffins at 350 for close to 20 min. I was glad that they weren't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I have been making muffins for 20+ years and I had no luck with this one. I followed the recipe and the they burned after 18 minutes, made a mess in my muffin tins. Not sure what went wrong. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Terrible. I doubled the sugar as advised by other reviewers. But really, 2 cups of raspberries are too much for these muffins. The tartness of the berries "sours out" any sweetness in the muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Great muffins! I used a triple berry mix instead of just raspberries and used half whole wheat flour, half all-purpose white flour. Also increased cinnamon to 3/4 teaspoon for a little extra yummy flavor. Mine were also done before 25 minutes, so check early just in case! These are a top favorite for my kids. The recipe gave me more than enough for 12 muffins, so just used the remainder to make a mini loaf as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I heeded other posted reviews and used 1/3c brown sugar (1/2c would have been too much, giving you cupcakes instead of muffins!), and added a bit of nutmeg. I also used butter and a little coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil, which is VERY unhealthy. A mix of frozen blueberries and raspberries worked well for us. Nice and fruity goodness with butter! I don't know why anyone found these dry--mine turned out quite moist! They didn't stick any more than any other muffin does. For muffins, do NOT use cupcake liners or they definitely will stick to the paper. Simply butter the bottom ONLY of the muffin cups, then when they come out of the oven, run a butterknife around the edge and pop the muffin out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I loved this recipe. It's the perfect muffin. A muffin isn't supposed to be as sweet as a cake. It's supposed to be more breadlike. That's why it's called a muffin. If you add more sugar to it, congratulations, you've just changed it into a cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
found the muffins to be very tart, almost sour, did not enjoy them. may alter based on time of year for the fruit, but wouldn't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I did not change the recipe because I didn't want a sweet muffin for heath reasons, however I don't believe that this recipe was ever tested because these were more tasteless than a diet bran muffin, sorry! just had to say it . I doubled the recipe to freeze some for later used fresh berries- took one bite and tossed them in the can. My advice would be find another recipe. Too many changes would have to be made here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
loved these. nice and healthy. will def make this again. brought them to work and people liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States