Very Berry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This recipe was easy to make. I used ricotta cheese which is a dry cottage cheese, with fresh raspberries and fresh blackberries. I cut the berries in half for the inside layer because they were quite big. I did not like using the crushed vanilla cookies because I found they did not crush up very finely. Next time I will use crushed graham wafer crumbs instead. My problem with baking cheesecake is I always think it is wobbly and underdone in the middle so I bake it an extra 15 minutes longer, but that is when it cracks. The idea is to not bake it longer and not worry about it, it will still be done to consistency. I also cooked the berry sauce on low on the stove top so it would be thinner to pour on the cheesecake. I did not have brandy so I used a guava liquour in the cake and grand marnier liquor (orange) in the sauce. It was a very light cheesecake because of the ricotta. I will make this again it was great at the dinner party, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I used black berry brandy instead and did not add a topping. It was a hit for Thanksgiving. I might add more black berries in the middle next time or much them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This was so light and creamy! It was one of my best cheesecakes yet! I didn't put the blackberries in whole, but pureed them with some sugar and swirled that into batter after it was in the pan to give it a swirly pattern. So, so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Prep time is inaccurate. it actually takes me 5 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Tasted so good and everyone loved it. I used OJ in place of the cherry brandy, used a combination of 4 cups of blueberries, blackberries and strawberries, 2 cups in each layer. Also used calorie free sugar and whole wheat white flour and reduced fat cream cheese. Used a 9" pan because I don't have an 8", but 9" turned out to be perfect because I added more fruits. Thanks to the author for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
my first time baking a cheesecake. it was AWESOME!!!!! I didn't follow the recipe exactly as I didn't have any cherry brandy (I used white rum instead) and fresh blackberries were very expensive(they were imported), so I used organic mixed berries from our local grocery store. I threw three boxes of them into the cake and served it without topping. I still can't believe that my very first cheesecake for my fiance's birthday was a huge success. Thanks JJOHN32.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Bouma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mindy Coen
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Being my first attempt at a cooked Cheesecake... I decided on this one. I could have not asked for a better recipe. I added more types of Berries on the topping .... everything else was as is and it turned out SPECTACULAR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Coen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Fabulous! I added another half to the recipe to fill my 9 inch pan. I also used frozen black raspberries. I baked it for 40 minutes in my convection oven (no water bath) and then just let it set there in the oven for another 2-3 hours. It was done perfectly and no cracks! I took it to a church function and everyone raved about how good it looked and tasted. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have used this recipe for years and it is such a lovely cheesecake, in both flavour and presentation. I have always used frozen mixed berries and have never had any problems. This is my favourite cheesecake recipe of all time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Good, easy to make cheesecake. Not as sweet as I expected. A little grainy. Everybody enjoyed it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Robertson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States