Veronica's Apple Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I doubled the recipe and for me these were very bland as written after i the first one i taste tested I ended up adding a lot more cinnamon an extra 1/2 cup of flour & some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittknight

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I usually fail miserably at making fluffy pancakes, but these turned out perfectly! I made them exactly as written except that I guesstimated the amount of butter (the butter in Kenya doesn't have measuring marks on it) and I chopped the apples instead of shredding them to give the pancake more texture, and I more than doubled the cinnamon. I also added a sprinkle of nutmeg. No syrup here, so I ate them plain. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
These were not that good, followed recipe exactly and after taste testing 1st one found I needed to add extra sugar, about 1/3 cup, some vanilla, about 1/2 to 1 tsp, and an additional shredded apple, next time I will stick with my go to pancake recipe and just add some apple and cinnamon, also quite heavy only ate about half what we usually eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Love this recipe! I did triple the amount of cinnamon though. We're big cinnamon lovers in my house. My husband and my 9 month old daughter loved how they turned out (I made little baby pancakes for her).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
These were amazing, this is definatly going to be my pancake recipe from now on. The only thing that I did was I added a bit more milk, cinnamon and sugar like some of the others suggested. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Not what I expected from the reviews (and the photo!). I doubled the cinnamon too but they came out bland. Lumpy texture & needed to be spread around in pan or they were too thick to cook. I cooked on med-hi heat but they browned too quickly while the middle was dense. Don't think I'll make again though I like the nutrition factor of the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I've made this recipe as writtten and with a few changes, and it's fantastic both ways! To make this recipe a bit healthier for my kids I substitute whole wheat flour for about half of the all-purpose flour and substitute honey for the sugar. I also double the cinnamon and add about a tsp. of vanilla extract. My kids actually prefer this recipe with the whole wheat flour - it gives the pancakes a wonderful nutty flavor that really compliments the apples and cinnamon well. I usually double this recipe and it's the perfect amount for my family of six. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good, I served it with apple cinnamon applesauce for the top and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Too dense for a pancake in my opinion. But I doubled the apple, so I compensated by almost doubling the flour (whole wheat) which made it thick and hard to flatten so I added another egg. I thought I could skimp on the sugar but DON'T. And I'd QUADRUPLE the cinnamon. It's not very cinnamonny at all! I'll try it again, following the recipe exactly and re-rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made these for breakfast this morning and loved them! Very moist and filling without being "hockey pucks." I doubled the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon and felt this gave it just enough essence of cinnamon without being overpowering. I highly recommend these for company day or any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States