Vern's Roasted Pork Loin Over Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This was very good. I halved the recipe because we had a 1 lb. pork tenderloin frozen that I wanted to use. Given the smaller amount, I cooked it for 45 minutes...could have probably gone a little less. Next time I'll make some sweet potato, which I think would go well with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Family didn't like the taste so much - would rather have our pork loin lightly flavored, and our sauerkraut without additional sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
First, I love sauerkraut. Was glad when I saw this recipe because I had a half pork loin thawed out and didn't know what to do with it. Added just a few of the spices others mentioned and no cranberries but I love the way this turned out. I cooked it for 90 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
excellent, tangy and sweet don't be shy on the 'kraut and do not forget the garlic Chef Terry Ramsay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrance Ramsay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
A delicious and easy recipe. I was skeptical about the mushroom soup but it was not overstated and I found it balanced the sauerkraut and gave a smoother texture. I followed the recipe except I added 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar to the kraut mix and coated my 2.5 lb roast with 4 oz of unsweetened applesauce to prevent drying. Those little individual cups of applesauce are convenient. Big hit with husband and I'll make again. A good dinner for guests IF they like kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The roast turned out moist and tender but we did not care for the sauerkaut mixture. I did change the cranberries for dried apricots as another reviewer suggested. jessie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
We made this recipe tonight and were very happy with it. I was a little concerned about the addition of the mushroom soup (mushrooms and sauerkraut?) but it ended up lending a nice creaminess to the kraut with no obvious mushroom flavor. I hurried the cooking by cooking the pork longer than just to brown, sauteing the onions a bit and warming the soup/kraut/apple/cranberry mixture in the microwave. This cut the cooking time to under an hour. We'll be making this again and maybe trying adding a few more spices/herbs to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne_NL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
A really easy, tasty dish. Everyone raved on it, and said don't change a thing about it. It's added to my recipe box and I know it will become a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was the best and easiest pork loin I ever tasted...will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaret1220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
delicious! followed the recipe exactly with a few additions... i added a small amount of rosemary, thyme, caraway seed and minced garlic to the saurkraut mixture. served with dumplings. tender, moist, juicy and extremely flavorful! easy and simple. great for a weeknight feast. my husband loved it. i will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States