Vernita's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I found this to be absolutely scrumptious, and everything I was looking for in a side dish casserole. Boiling pasta, cooking rice... if I'm going to cook the food in the first place, why bake it for an hour? This took minutes to prep and tasted awesome. I used brown instant rice, cheese soup instead of mushroom as I am a cheesy broccoli fiend, and used the whole 16oz frozen bag I had. I am not a big fan of onion and like lots of recipes, decided to use onion powder instead of fresh chopped: worked great for me. I will most definitely be making this again, it's the perfect veggie/starch side when you're main event is meat. Thanks SO MUCH for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I took this casserole to our church Christmas party and it was a big success. I loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
what can I say, but YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I've made this twice; the second time it was wonderful because I sauteed the chopped onion first, and also nuked the frozen broccoli for 5 minutes before tossing everything together (and cut it up since it was whole florets). ALSO, I used Club Crackers instead of Ritz, and believe it or not, this made a huge difference! My family loved it. I threw in some leftover cooked chicken at the end for my son, but I prefer it without the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
made this just tonight- really good! my gf & i raved over it and leftovers will be kept for tomorrow's lunch. i made some tweaks, tho. instead of uncooked rice, i used broccoli & cheddar quick rice and cooked it first in the rice cooker. also used panko herbal crumbs instead of crackers. and didn't use frozen broccoli but fresh ones, steamed just a bit. it's in my opinion that the quick rice supported the flavor for this dish. we'd do this again, with guests to impress 'em! do this recipe! (we baked it for just 30 min- easy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mojokitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Loved this casserole. I made it as a side dish with our pork chops and it was great! The crunch of the Ritz on top really made this dish stand out. I didn't have enough cheddar on hand but it was still really good. I did, however, cook the rice separately as we do not use instant rice-therefore i omitted the water. I will be making this casserole again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Paul, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashley
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
i like this recipe. simple, fast, & cheesy! what more could you ask for? i used cream of chicken instead of mushroom. i may add garlic next time. but this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland Home, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph.Dennis
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
The recipe is good as it is, my husband don't like onion so I didn't put it in but it still taste fantastic! Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph.Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This darn broccoli casserole was REALLY good!! My tweaks: I cooked the rice first and replaced the water with milk, used reduced calorie cream of chicken instead of mushroom, used 1/2 sleeve of wheat ritz crackers, and about a 1 and 1/2 cup of cheese instead of 2. I also added a little pepper and garlic salt to the mix. AWESOME!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
THANK YOU for a recipe that calls for REAL CHEESE and not process cheese spread or Velveeta or any other goo that's not real cheese! I had no crackers so I left them off (DH is gluten intolerant anyway). That said, I also had to make my own cream of mushroom soup (couldn't take the chance that Campbell's has wheat in it) but that was no problem. I had leftover rice, and broccoli flowerets and onion cook in minutes in the microwave, so I basically just stirred everything together and heated it up. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States