Vernita's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
what can I say, but YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
If you add some leftover chicken chunks, this is a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was okay, nothing spectacular. No one had any complaints but they didn't love it either. I did have to add about an additional 1/2c. of water and bake a little longer because the rice was not done in the stated time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Not bad, not great. I did add 1/2 c. additional water but it could have used another 1/2 c (1 total cup extra) easily. Took 1 hr 15 minutes to cook. Definitely needs salt and pepper. Not sure if I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I've made this twice; the second time it was wonderful because I sauteed the chopped onion first, and also nuked the frozen broccoli for 5 minutes before tossing everything together (and cut it up since it was whole florets). ALSO, I used Club Crackers instead of Ritz, and believe it or not, this made a huge difference! My family loved it. I threw in some leftover cooked chicken at the end for my son, but I prefer it without the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this for a Christmas dinner side dish this year and got rave reviews. I did tweak it a little...I sauteed the onion first, chopped up the broccoli a little and increased the Ritz Crackers to about a 1/2 sleeve. I also used sharp cheddar for a stronger flavor and added a tablespoon of garlic salt and used low sodium mushroom soup instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennRT929

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
made this just tonight- really good! my gf & i raved over it and leftovers will be kept for tomorrow's lunch. i made some tweaks, tho. instead of uncooked rice, i used broccoli & cheddar quick rice and cooked it first in the rice cooker. also used panko herbal crumbs instead of crackers. and didn't use frozen broccoli but fresh ones, steamed just a bit. it's in my opinion that the quick rice supported the flavor for this dish. we'd do this again, with guests to impress 'em! do this recipe! (we baked it for just 30 min- easy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mojokitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I found this to be absolutely scrumptious, and everything I was looking for in a side dish casserole. Boiling pasta, cooking rice... if I'm going to cook the food in the first place, why bake it for an hour? This took minutes to prep and tasted awesome. I used brown instant rice, cheese soup instead of mushroom as I am a cheesy broccoli fiend, and used the whole 16oz frozen bag I had. I am not a big fan of onion and like lots of recipes, decided to use onion powder instead of fresh chopped: worked great for me. I will most definitely be making this again, it's the perfect veggie/starch side when you're main event is meat. Thanks SO MUCH for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I subtracted the rice and added a pound of hamburger, and it was great-- even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I had planned to eat leftovers the next day...but there weren't any!! I added 1 can cream of celery soup, substitued milk for the water, and used fresh brocolli (2 stalks) instead of frozen. I added some Italian spice for flavor, and cut the cheese in half....my husband asked if we could have it for T-Day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States