Vernell's Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
A delicious slaw, especially with a barbecue sandwich.***Update - The next time I made this, I used a 16 oz. pkg of coleslaw mix, halved the marinade ingredients, and used Splenda instead of sugar. It was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This turned out delicious. Everybody in my house likes mayo based slaw, except me, but when they tried this they all agreed that it was even better than their usual pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Fantastic! A perfect accompaniment to BBQ or roast turkey. I found a jar of this in the back of my refrigerator one time (forgotten for several weeks), and it was still fresh and delicious! PS Vernell was my grandmother's cook, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I am usually bad about leaving reviews, but I just made this, had a taste while it was still warm, and it was amazing! As a child, I would go to visit a friend of my mother's each summer, and her kids would make this. I have some BBQ ribs cooking right now and thought that this would go well with them. This is exactly as I remebered it to taste, and even my husband who is not a big cole slaw fan thought that this was really good! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Didn't have white vinegar but used 3/4 cup apple cider vin and 1/4 cup red wine vinegar. Made as a slaw to put on pulled pork sandwiches but it was so good people were just eating the slaw with spoons. I finely shredded a large carrot which made it sweet but not too sweet. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was a nice basic slaw recipe. It was a little sweet for me even though I cut down on the sugar because I don't like sweet stuff. Hubby though does like sweet stuff and it just got a "yeah it was yummy from him" I know that that does not mean 5 stars. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Very yummy! I like healthy alternatives so I substituted 3/4 c. water and 1/4 c. oil, rather than 1 c. oil. Next time I will add carrots, etc. I will also use less liqid as it was a litle soupy. Overall, very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
above average vinegar based slaw. tasted great when eaten on the bbq sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
"Vernell's Slaw" is a wonderful slightly sweet coleslaw with a light hint of a celery taste. It is tasty, but not overpowering such as to compete with other flavorful dishes. It reminds me of those "full of love" type recipes that I can find in old church cookbooks. I substituted honey for sugar (equal amounts) in mine. Thank you HUNGRYHIPPO2 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States