Vermicelli Noodle Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Didn't have pickled carrot, so used fresh, subbed red radish for daikon, generic cuke for English, garden-variety fresh basil for Thai basil, sweet onion fir shallots and husband came home with angel hair instead of vermicelli. I had the remainder and I hoped it was the type of dish that lent well to substitutions. Fresh and delicious with a wonderful barrage of flavors. Could eat this weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Hansen Francois

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Betty Schuch
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Love this recipe! I used Gourmet rice vinegar in place of white vinegar. Also to pickle the carrots & daikon radish I marinated the grated roots in a pinch of salt & some rice vinegar for at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This recipe was not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I really enjoyed this dish, but I love cold thai noodle salads with fresh herbs. The only reason why I gave the 4 stars is that it has too much fish sauce. I've ruined dishes before with that. I subbed 1/4 the fish sauce with soy sauce (so 1/8 fish sauce and 1/8 soy sauce) and used rice wine vinegar since I had it. I still think that was too much fish sauce, so I will tone it down even more next time. But there will be a next time, so that's why I'm giving it 4 stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Fabulous as it is... I used regular radish. I'll make it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Othello, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This is so good. Loved the crunch of the veggies and the flavor of the dressing. I did however substitute soy sauce for half of the fish sauce because fish sauce can be overpowering. I had to make my own Asian quick pickles tho. We live in the boonies and consider myself lucky to be able to buy something as common as fish sauce in the grocery stores around here. They would never carry something as unusual as Asian pickles!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
It was great. I made it almost exactly as the reciped called for except I did not have mint and didn't chop peanuts. I will tweak the dressing a little next time possibly make it a little sweater however overall this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Instead of white vinegar I useed Rice vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Waaay too much fish sauce! Start with 1 tablespoon and work up from there. Also, use lime juice instead of vinegar - more flavor and more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
It's a life-changing recipe! I always order bun in Vietnamese restaurants and never thought I could duplicate it -- but the sauce in this recipe makes my homemade salad taste like I got it in a restaurant. I used it on a plain old chicken salad, except I added the rice vermicelli following the directions exactly. They didn't look good at first, but as they sat in the colander they looked more like it and were a great addition. And NO OIL in the salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States