Vermicelli Noodle Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made this with what I had on hand... which was NY Strip Steak. I also didn't have the pickled carrots/daikon or cucumbers. However it was very good. I did add a bit more sugar to the sauce because I like it a bit sweeter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
VERY EASY to make & super yummy even if I tweaked the ingredients! It's pretty much a fool-proof kind of recipe. I used Filipino vermicelli (looks more like glass noodle) which cooks for only less than 5 mins. :] Special sauce + sriracha =
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I made this for dinner last weekend when we had my bf's parent's over. It was nice because I didn't spend all day preparing the meal. It really is light and fresh. I grow my own mint and basil so that worked well for this recipe! The only differences were, I added scallions as well which really added to the flavor. I also made chicken too because my bf was afraid it wouldn't be enough (he was way off on that-my bf's dad even commented that it was so good, it didn't even need meat). Also, I didn't cut my cucumber into matchsticks because I don't know how to do that. Also, I don't know what diakon radishes are, so I used regular ones. Every bite my bf's dad took he went "mmm" so I knew it was good! It was a bit too fishy for me, so I didn't really use any sauce on mine, so I may try a different sauce next time. Definitely worth trying! Perfect time of year for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This has to rate in the top five meals to come out of my kitchen! I had no idea I could replicate the flavours of my favourite Vietnamese restaurant. I had my heart set on serving this with beef because of the photo, though the recipe calls for grilled shrimp, so I used an 8-oz top sirloin seasoned with garlic salt. I followed the recipe almost exactly, omitting only the radish, basil and mint. I didn't have pickled carrots, so I shaved a carrot thinly, with a potato peeler, to match the size of the matchstick cucumbers. We only abandoned the herbs, which I'd planned to cut from the garden at the last minute, because the assembled plates (wouldn't fit in bowls) looked satisfying already, and we were starving! It was delicious, leaving enough noodles, veggies and garnish to have for lunch the next day. One of the other reviews says this would be delicious without meat, and they are 100 percent correct! I can't wait to make this again. My husband and I can't stop talking about how delicious it was and how unlike anything we've attempted to make at home. Maybe we'll try the grilled shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This recipe is almost exactly like the one served in my local Vietnamese restaurant, but with even more fresh herbs and vegetables. I loved the lightly caramelized shallot. The only things I didn't include were the daikon and the bean sprouts. I may try the dressing without fish sauce next time to achieve an even fresher flavor. My proteins were some leftover grilled chicken and shrimp sauteed in a combination of olive and sesame oil. Delicious--thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Loved it didn't use the mint , diakon or pickled carrot, added diced jalapeno and red pepper instead also added chopped up steak to, love it! just as I hoped it would turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenostar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This recipe is spot on! I topped mine with bbq pork and lumpia cut in half on the diaginal. I wish I would have taken a picture of the dish to share with you. Next time for sure. It tasted just like my favorite vietnamese restaurant's dish. My husband was convinced he was not going to like it and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
really good! I didn't have any pickled carrot or radish. This is a really versatile dish - I picked up all the ingredients from an Asian store for really cheap. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So yummy! Tastes just like it does at my favorite Vietnamese restaurant, Pho Van.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is perfect for the summer. I added grilled calamari and shrimp infused with lemon and garlic for a little bit of a kick. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAouita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States