Vermicelli Noodle Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made this with what I had on hand... which was NY Strip Steak. I also didn't have the pickled carrots/daikon or cucumbers. However it was very good. I did add a bit more sugar to the sauce because I like it a bit sweeter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
VERY EASY to make & super yummy even if I tweaked the ingredients! It's pretty much a fool-proof kind of recipe. I used Filipino vermicelli (looks more like glass noodle) which cooks for only less than 5 mins. :] Special sauce + sriracha =
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I made this for dinner last weekend when we had my bf's parent's over. It was nice because I didn't spend all day preparing the meal. It really is light and fresh. I grow my own mint and basil so that worked well for this recipe! The only differences were, I added scallions as well which really added to the flavor. I also made chicken too because my bf was afraid it wouldn't be enough (he was way off on that-my bf's dad even commented that it was so good, it didn't even need meat). Also, I didn't cut my cucumber into matchsticks because I don't know how to do that. Also, I don't know what diakon radishes are, so I used regular ones. Every bite my bf's dad took he went "mmm" so I knew it was good! It was a bit too fishy for me, so I didn't really use any sauce on mine, so I may try a different sauce next time. Definitely worth trying! Perfect time of year for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This has to rate in the top five meals to come out of my kitchen! I had no idea I could replicate the flavours of my favourite Vietnamese restaurant. I had my heart set on serving this with beef because of the photo, though the recipe calls for grilled shrimp, so I used an 8-oz top sirloin seasoned with garlic salt. I followed the recipe almost exactly, omitting only the radish, basil and mint. I didn't have pickled carrots, so I shaved a carrot thinly, with a potato peeler, to match the size of the matchstick cucumbers. We only abandoned the herbs, which I'd planned to cut from the garden at the last minute, because the assembled plates (wouldn't fit in bowls) looked satisfying already, and we were starving! It was delicious, leaving enough noodles, veggies and garnish to have for lunch the next day. One of the other reviews says this would be delicious without meat, and they are 100 percent correct! I can't wait to make this again. My husband and I can't stop talking about how delicious it was and how unlike anything we've attempted to make at home. Maybe we'll try the grilled shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Waaay too much fish sauce! Start with 1 tablespoon and work up from there. Also, use lime juice instead of vinegar - more flavor and more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This recipe is almost exactly like the one served in my local Vietnamese restaurant, but with even more fresh herbs and vegetables. I loved the lightly caramelized shallot. The only things I didn't include were the daikon and the bean sprouts. I may try the dressing without fish sauce next time to achieve an even fresher flavor. My proteins were some leftover grilled chicken and shrimp sauteed in a combination of olive and sesame oil. Delicious--thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
The 1/4 cup of white vinegar made the sauce way too overpowering, 1/4 cup of lime juice is more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This recipe is spot on! I topped mine with bbq pork and lumpia cut in half on the diaginal. I wish I would have taken a picture of the dish to share with you. Next time for sure. It tasted just like my favorite vietnamese restaurant's dish. My husband was convinced he was not going to like it and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I really enjoyed this dish, but I love cold thai noodle salads with fresh herbs. The only reason why I gave the 4 stars is that it has too much fish sauce. I've ruined dishes before with that. I subbed 1/4 the fish sauce with soy sauce (so 1/8 fish sauce and 1/8 soy sauce) and used rice wine vinegar since I had it. I still think that was too much fish sauce, so I will tone it down even more next time. But there will be a next time, so that's why I'm giving it 4 stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This is fantastic. So healthy so good. Thanks for sharing. I used rice wine vinegar instead of white. Yum. Try it you'll like it. I only cooked the noodles 8 minutes. Maybe mine were thinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States