Vermicelli Noodle Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This recipe is almost exactly like the one served in my local Vietnamese restaurant, but with even more fresh herbs and vegetables. I loved the lightly caramelized shallot. The only things I didn't include were the daikon and the bean sprouts. I may try the dressing without fish sauce next time to achieve an even fresher flavor. My proteins were some leftover grilled chicken and shrimp sauteed in a combination of olive and sesame oil. Delicious--thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Loved it didn't use the mint , diakon or pickled carrot, added diced jalapeno and red pepper instead also added chopped up steak to, love it! just as I hoped it would turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenostar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Now I don't have to go out for vermicelli! Easy to make and will stay fresh for days after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
i must have done something wrong in making the sauce, it was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by syrahbelle
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I sautéed my shrimp in homemade spicy peanut sauce. My husband and I love to eat Vietnamese food, so to save money, I needed to make it myself, and it came out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syrahbelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This came out really good I am a big fan of Vermicelli Noodle bowls, so it was really cool to be able to make it at home for the family. I did make some changes I used just regular fresh radishes and carrots I don't like the pickeled stuff. I also used thin carna beef lightly seasoned with a sweet terriaki sauce, in addition to the shrimp. I cooked both on the stove top. Everything tasted amazing the family loved it and wants me to make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetbutterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This recipe is spot on! I topped mine with bbq pork and lumpia cut in half on the diaginal. I wish I would have taken a picture of the dish to share with you. Next time for sure. It tasted just like my favorite vietnamese restaurant's dish. My husband was convinced he was not going to like it and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This has to rate in the top five meals to come out of my kitchen! I had no idea I could replicate the flavours of my favourite Vietnamese restaurant. I had my heart set on serving this with beef because of the photo, though the recipe calls for grilled shrimp, so I used an 8-oz top sirloin seasoned with garlic salt. I followed the recipe almost exactly, omitting only the radish, basil and mint. I didn't have pickled carrots, so I shaved a carrot thinly, with a potato peeler, to match the size of the matchstick cucumbers. We only abandoned the herbs, which I'd planned to cut from the garden at the last minute, because the assembled plates (wouldn't fit in bowls) looked satisfying already, and we were starving! It was delicious, leaving enough noodles, veggies and garnish to have for lunch the next day. One of the other reviews says this would be delicious without meat, and they are 100 percent correct! I can't wait to make this again. My husband and I can't stop talking about how delicious it was and how unlike anything we've attempted to make at home. Maybe we'll try the grilled shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
really good! I didn't have any pickled carrot or radish. This is a really versatile dish - I picked up all the ingredients from an Asian store for really cheap. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States