Veracruz-Style Red Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by aputler
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Glad my Doctor insisted on more fish in the diet! This was fast, fresh and so very good. Thanks for the recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Delicious! This was a big hit with everyone, and Weight Watchers friendly. Do take the effort to find the Castelvetrano olives; very flavorful. I was able to track them down at Whole Foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I made this exactly as written, except: I used a chopped, fresh (locally grown) tomato instead of cherry tomatoes, and I only had one lime. Anyhow, it turned out great -- really delicious and just what I was looking for. I often order fish Veracruz at restaurants, but had never tried it at home. I served it with rice and an avacado salad. I will make this again for sure -- hubby loved it too. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is a very good rendition of a classic. I made a few changes: like another reviewer, I added sliced blanched potatoes on top of the fish before baking. As the tomato sauce cooked, I added a few pinches of cinnamon, 1/3 cup of raisins and used ground chipotle pepper instead of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Tasy and low-cal!.. I made this tonight after first seeing the video on U-Tube... I didn't realize it was for only 2 servings which explains why my sauce wasn't quite enough but the flavors made up for that! The addition I made from another recipe was to pre-sliced then boil a couple red potatoes in salted water then layer them on top of the fish before putting the top layer of sauce. Other changes I made were leaving the fish whole, using dried oregano and red onion because of what I had. My three guys all liked it and the pickiest never said anything about the onions. I didn't have capers but I'll be sure to have them next time. I used some of the olive brine as a substitute. The snapper's flavor wasn't great on it's own; I would want to try it with other white-fish, maybe cod... Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Turned out great. Exceptionally tastey. Will definitely try it, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knwbuddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Way better than I expected! Came out perfect...Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZahra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Delicious! Loved it! I used Spanish olives with pimento.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Made this last night. It was da bomb! HOWEVER, I only used 1/4 of a habanero pepper and it was too hot for me. I should have gone with my instincts and not used any at all. Thank god I didn't add the cayenne pepper. Nonetheless, I am not a "hot/spicy" person. Next time I'll add a pinch of hot sauce once it's on my plate. Nevertheless, it was very flavorfull, except I couldn't deal with the habanero. I paired it with some boiled Yucca/Casave, steamed snow peas and had sime Italian Prosecco to chug it down. Can't wait to make it again with some yellow rice on the side. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
probably my most favorite fish dishes. It is so nice that this tastes even better then some restaurant's versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States