Veracruz-Style Red Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by aputler
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Glad my Doctor insisted on more fish in the diet! This was fast, fresh and so very good. Thanks for the recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Delicious! This was a big hit with everyone, and Weight Watchers friendly. Do take the effort to find the Castelvetrano olives; very flavorful. I was able to track them down at Whole Foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I made this exactly as written, except: I used a chopped, fresh (locally grown) tomato instead of cherry tomatoes, and I only had one lime. Anyhow, it turned out great -- really delicious and just what I was looking for. I often order fish Veracruz at restaurants, but had never tried it at home. I served it with rice and an avacado salad. I will make this again for sure -- hubby loved it too. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Turned out great. Exceptionally tastey. Will definitely try it, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knwbuddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is a very good rendition of a classic. I made a few changes: like another reviewer, I added sliced blanched potatoes on top of the fish before baking. As the tomato sauce cooked, I added a few pinches of cinnamon, 1/3 cup of raisins and used ground chipotle pepper instead of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Tasy and low-cal!.. I made this tonight after first seeing the video on U-Tube... I didn't realize it was for only 2 servings which explains why my sauce wasn't quite enough but the flavors made up for that! The addition I made from another recipe was to pre-sliced then boil a couple red potatoes in salted water then layer them on top of the fish before putting the top layer of sauce. Other changes I made were leaving the fish whole, using dried oregano and red onion because of what I had. My three guys all liked it and the pickiest never said anything about the onions. I didn't have capers but I'll be sure to have them next time. I used some of the olive brine as a substitute. The snapper's flavor wasn't great on it's own; I would want to try it with other white-fish, maybe cod... Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I had to use a large regular tomato instead of the cherry tomatoes, and red onion instead of white. Very easy preparation and the flavor is outstanding. I sautéed the snapper in a separate pan (sprinkled with cayenne, olive oil and some lime juice), then plated it and spooned the sauce on top. I don't like the sauce tasting so much like the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Way better than I expected! Came out perfect...Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZahra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Delicious! Loved it! I used Spanish olives with pimento.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States