Veracruz-Style Red Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I made this exactly as written, except: I used a chopped, fresh (locally grown) tomato instead of cherry tomatoes, and I only had one lime. Anyhow, it turned out great -- really delicious and just what I was looking for. I often order fish Veracruz at restaurants, but had never tried it at home. I served it with rice and an avacado salad. I will make this again for sure -- hubby loved it too. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Delicious! This was a big hit with everyone, and Weight Watchers friendly. Do take the effort to find the Castelvetrano olives; very flavorful. I was able to track them down at Whole Foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I made it exactly to the recipe. Everyone in the family including two elementary aged kids who like olives thought it was very good. But I would not say it was excellent for the full 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NRD
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is another great dish from chef John. I did change it a little. I used tilapia,no jalapeno and sicilian olive instead of what the recipe called for. Would I make it again? YES ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Tasy and low-cal!.. I made this tonight after first seeing the video on U-Tube... I didn't realize it was for only 2 servings which explains why my sauce wasn't quite enough but the flavors made up for that! The addition I made from another recipe was to pre-sliced then boil a couple red potatoes in salted water then layer them on top of the fish before putting the top layer of sauce. Other changes I made were leaving the fish whole, using dried oregano and red onion because of what I had. My three guys all liked it and the pickiest never said anything about the onions. I didn't have capers but I'll be sure to have them next time. I used some of the olive brine as a substitute. The snapper's flavor wasn't great on it's own; I would want to try it with other white-fish, maybe cod... Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is a very good rendition of a classic. I made a few changes: like another reviewer, I added sliced blanched potatoes on top of the fish before baking. As the tomato sauce cooked, I added a few pinches of cinnamon, 1/3 cup of raisins and used ground chipotle pepper instead of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aputler
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Glad my Doctor insisted on more fish in the diet! This was fast, fresh and so very good. Thanks for the recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Fabulous. Made it twice. Finished both times with cilantro. Next time i might try this with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Delicious!!!!!! Will be a staple. I used Roma tomatoes, which I had on hand, and still came out wonderful. Easy to make. Maria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
probably my most favorite fish dishes. It is so nice that this tastes even better then some restaurant's versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States