Veracruz-Style Red Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Way better than I expected! Came out perfect...Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZahra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Delicious! Loved it! I used Spanish olives with pimento.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Made this last night. It was da bomb! HOWEVER, I only used 1/4 of a habanero pepper and it was too hot for me. I should have gone with my instincts and not used any at all. Thank god I didn't add the cayenne pepper. Nonetheless, I am not a "hot/spicy" person. Next time I'll add a pinch of hot sauce once it's on my plate. Nevertheless, it was very flavorfull, except I couldn't deal with the habanero. I paired it with some boiled Yucca/Casave, steamed snow peas and had sime Italian Prosecco to chug it down. Can't wait to make it again with some yellow rice on the side. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
probably my most favorite fish dishes. It is so nice that this tastes even better then some restaurant's versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Delicious!!!!!! Will be a staple. I used Roma tomatoes, which I had on hand, and still came out wonderful. Easy to make. Maria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Fabulous. Made it twice. Finished both times with cilantro. Next time i might try this with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aputler
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Glad my Doctor insisted on more fish in the diet! This was fast, fresh and so very good. Thanks for the recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is a very good rendition of a classic. I made a few changes: like another reviewer, I added sliced blanched potatoes on top of the fish before baking. As the tomato sauce cooked, I added a few pinches of cinnamon, 1/3 cup of raisins and used ground chipotle pepper instead of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Tasy and low-cal!.. I made this tonight after first seeing the video on U-Tube... I didn't realize it was for only 2 servings which explains why my sauce wasn't quite enough but the flavors made up for that! The addition I made from another recipe was to pre-sliced then boil a couple red potatoes in salted water then layer them on top of the fish before putting the top layer of sauce. Other changes I made were leaving the fish whole, using dried oregano and red onion because of what I had. My three guys all liked it and the pickiest never said anything about the onions. I didn't have capers but I'll be sure to have them next time. I used some of the olive brine as a substitute. The snapper's flavor wasn't great on it's own; I would want to try it with other white-fish, maybe cod... Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by NRD
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is another great dish from chef John. I did change it a little. I used tilapia,no jalapeno and sicilian olive instead of what the recipe called for. Would I make it again? YES ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States