Veracruz-Style Red Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Excellent. Loved this. I thought I had bought red snapper but when I pulled the fish out of the refrig I realized I had bought catfish. Since I had already prepared the tomatoes and capers mixture I couldn't change recipes so I used the catfish. It was great. I will definitely make this again and I will buy red snapper next time. Five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I love this recipe! I only made a few changes. Used haddock and Roma tomatoes because that is what I had. I put about 2 tablespoons of lime juice onto the fish directly along with the salt, pepper and cayenne but did not top the mixture with the lime. I did use the Castelvetrano olives and so glad I did, they are awesome! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Sooo good! I used red onion and yellow cherry tomatoes and kalamata olives. Nice color! Also only had pickled jalapeños but I thought it was delish. Used 2 slices diced fine, prepped a fish for kids, then added 3 more slices for us. With cayenne, it was perfect heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Salty, but I really like that, made with rice, excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is a wonderful main dish. I use this with cod and other light white fish, but it's best with Red Snapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Alterations: used Tilapia, no-salt-added canned tomatoes, added green & red bell peppers. Layered a bit of sauce on the bottom, added sauteed yellow squash & zucchini & a bit more sauce, then fish & the rest of the sauce. It was FANTASTIC - my daughter immediately asked me when I would be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonni Goodman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Awesome! I am on a low sodium diet so i made without olives. I thought there was a step missing so i just mixed lime juice, cayenne and basil and put that in first so fish was nearly submersed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Excellent dinner tonight using this recipe baked in single serving au gratin dishes along with the blue tortilla chips as per Chef John's video. The only thing I didn't care for was the olives and that's because I used the wrong ones. They were way too strong so I'll change that up the next time but this is definitely going in our regular Friday fish night rotation. Hubby LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I had to use a large regular tomato instead of the cherry tomatoes, and red onion instead of white. Very easy preparation and the flavor is outstanding. I sautéed the snapper in a separate pan (sprinkled with cayenne, olive oil and some lime juice), then plated it and spooned the sauce on top. I don't like the sauce tasting so much like the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States