Vera Cruz Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I'd never had stuffed tomatoes before. I doubled the bacon and also added about 5 cloves minced garlic and about 6 minced white mushrooms. Also, I used 1 cup onion and 1 cup sour cream. This mix fit into about a dozen large Roma tomatoes. The Roma tomatoes kept this recipe from being overly juicy I think...delicious ! I deffinately plan on making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
A nice change! Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Theses were FANTASTIC! I am very confused as to the "blah" comments etc. The only things I did different were to use Garlic Salt to lightly salt the tomatoes before turning upside down and I used a combo of Mexican & Sharp cheddar cheese (Mexican mixed in with spinach etc. Cheddar on top). I served it at a dinner party with tenderloin steaks and they were a BIG hit. I was asked to send the recipe to all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
They were pretty good but not special enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Tasty summer side dish. Added some garlic and omitted the hot sauce due to personal preference. Great idea, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is so good! I wanted to eat all of them. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I liked these. At first I made them as written but made a couple changes to suit my taste. I added 1clove minced garlic. I found it a little watery so I took away half the sour cream. The cheese I mixed in with the spinach instead of melted on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was a tasty and colorful side dish. I'm always on the lookout for something different, and this recipe fills the bill. Lovely use for fresh tomatoes, when they are plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
These tomatoes are very tasty and filling. The filling is creamy with a BLT taste. Made them for a side dish but they turned out to be the star of the show. I salted the inside of the tomatoes first thing and put them upside down on paper towels. The salt draws out the excess water so give them a few minutes to sit. Used frozen spinach thawed, drained and squeezed in a kitchen towel to get out all the moisture. I've made them substituting frozen broccoli for the spinach and we liked them even more. Nice way to use up the garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
doubled everything was making for a group. Used the same ingrediants but subbed the sour cream with rigotta cheese these were delicious. will be making again. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States