Venison with Sherry-Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Excellent! Made this for my family last night using elk back straps and the sauce was s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
The only thing I differed from the recipe was I used venison shoulder steaks that I marinated over night. I think the recipe has possibility, but in my opinion, the meat was over cooked. I am going to try this again and when I do, I will just brown the steaks. Probably about 4 minutes on each side, and then let them finish cooking during the simmering step. If I make it again, I will try to remember to come back and update this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norman Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
So delicious! I've made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very good. The gravy was the best. I used Marsalla rather than Sherry. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Holy Butter, Batman! It seemed like a lot of butter when I was cooking the recipe. The butter flavor was very noticeable. If I make this again I will use half as much and sprinkle on some salt. This reminded me of chicken marsala, only with red meat. This would probably go well with noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Best venison recipe yet for any cut - would be good with other meats. Sherry and butter combine to make a sweet flavorful gravy. Elk would be even better! Some changes helped after several meals. Marinate the meat in some sherry. Double the amount of gravy ingredients - there won't be enough for everyone. I use a whole onion (white are better) and 8 oz of mushrooms, just for the wife and I with lots more butter. I add onion and garlic powder to flour mix. Portabellas and Baby Bellas have more flavor. The cooking time is too long for my prefs. Venison should be medium rare to pink. Saute the meat on both sides to medium rare and remove. Reduce the sauce separately and remove from heat, then add the meat without simmering, stir to coat meat and cover the pan till serving. The Sherry is great, not tried Marsala yet. Thinking same amount of Marsala might be too strong - so add more water and less Marsala. I add couple teaspoons of the leftover flour from bag to thicken sauce. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was amazing! I left out the sage, and used elk instead of venison. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Fantastic! This is a nice way to fully cook your venison tenderloins without making them too tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this tonight - WOW! My husband is an avid sportsman so we always have venison on hand, and after cooking it in almost every way imaginable, I needed a change. This certainly hit the spot! I did make a couple changes. Since I didn't have the full 1/4 cup of sherry, I stretched it with a bit of high quality balasmic which imparted a nice sweetness to the dish, and I used tarragon in place of the sage since I was out of that as well. My husband and father-in-law both raved about this dish. Will be serving this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Surprisingly good. Just a bit salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States