Venison and Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
While we loved the recipe. We made it without the cranberries, made with Uncle Ben's Long Grain and Wild Rice, 1 lb venison, and two squash. We had more filling than squash, so I would recommend using 3-4 with what I used. I kept the rest of the proportions the same. The other things I did differently were to add the seasoning mace (which can be expensive but goes a long way and goes well with most soups)and topped it with some shredded parmesean cheese. Overall, we will have more of this. I loved it quite a bit but am not a huge fan of venison. We were skeptical at first but the blends work extremely well together. With some tweaks you will ove it too and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This did nothing for me. It was edible, but I thought the flavors were way too blah (its pretty bad when the most obvious flavor is the salt you add to "spice" it up a bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This recipe is so flexible and very creative for venison - which is why I gave it 5 stars. You can easily alter this recipe to taste, and it still turns out great. Here is what I did: Per other reviews, I decided to cut out the butter entirely and double the rice, which was a rice blend with lentils. I added finely chopped mushrooms (portobella) - good addition - and used fresh cranberries cooked down a bit. I would skip the sugar, too, next time, because we also do not love sweet dishes for dinner, like another reviewer. I made a double batch easily. Thanks for a new idea for venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I followed this recipe to a t. My only change was cutting back the butter and sugar that was suggested by other viewers. We are not fans of sweet dinners and this meal was not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lake Lotawana, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I cut the sugar and butter as recommended by others, and added diced onions to the stuffing ... this got rave reviews by everyone around the table (including the kids!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I used red rice instead of wild rice and dried cranberries instead of fresh (they didn't have them at the store). It was absolutely delicious! Even my 2 yr. old loved it. It was a bit too different for my meat-and-potatoes husband, but he still ate it (I knew it wasn't to his taste when I cooked it, but I can only do chili mac so many times). I think next time I'll use less sugar if I can't get fresh cranberries. The dried cranberries contain added sugar, and I think that made the dish a bit too sweet. Also, I used olive oil instead of butter - worked great & much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Made this recipe tonight for me and my husband, used half the brown sugar and no butter per the reviews, and it was delicious! I wish I had cut the cinnamon back a little though too as it was a bit over powering, but very glad I had cut the brown sugar--it was plenty sweet w/ the 1/4 cup. I also used ground venison sausage which has a stronger flavor & white rice instead of wild b/c it was what I had and the craisins--I cut them into tinier pieces w/ kitchen shears and added the pine nuts one reviewer suggested. I will definitely be making this again and having some dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Easy and delicious! I used craisins instead of boiling cranberries and used moose burger instead of venison- just what I happened to have on hand. I also used less butter and half the brown sugar after reading other reviews on this recipe and it turned out perfect. This is one we will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made this recipe tonight. I used ground lamb instead of venison (could not get it)I drained off all of the fat & added a little chicken broth so it was healthier. I also grated & chopped onion, carrots & zucchini, sauteed them & added to the recipe, as well as topping it w/ a sprinkle of breadcrumbs. Fabulous dish that I WILL be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Beautiful dish, and open for creativity! I used two squash, venison sausage, and dried cranberries. When browning the sausage I added some diced onion and celery. I too cut back on the brown sugar and butter. This was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherylJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States