Venison Tips and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
When my boyfriend got home, I was just beginning to brown the meat and he commented that it smelled a little "gamey". But by the time I was finished cooking it all the word "gamey" was no where to be found in our house!! This recipe will definitely be used again and again!!! As a side note, I also used the Dirty Rice mix (after browning I added the water for the rice, 3 beef bouillon cubes, and the rice mix directly to the pot; covered and simmered it all together for 25 minutes). I started cooking before my boyfriend got home so I wasn't sure which cut of meat the tips came from so I used a shoulder roast and cut it up... it was a little tough (to be expected) but still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North East, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Thank you for sharing this recipe! I was looking for some way to start using up the venison in my freezer, and almost passed this by. I'm not a big fan of peppers, my husband absolutely loathes onions and doesn't care for the gamey taste of venison. Still, the description intrigued me. Because of our personal tastes, I used only 1/4 of a small onion and 1/2 each of one red and one green pepper. We both loved the results! Next time I will try it with the Dirty Rice as another reviewer suggested, just to save myself the trouble of having to cut up veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
7.8 Good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Having grown up on beef, it has been hard to adjust to eating the deer meat my husband brings home. I been looking for good venison recipes and this one takes the cake! It's simple, quick, and very yummy! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was an excellent supper. Very easy to throw together. I substituted the beef rice mix for Zatarain's Dirty Rice mix which was on hand and has more flavor. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
We eat a lot of venison, and I am always looking for a new way to prepare it. We loved this! Even my toddler ate two servings. I replaced the onion & peppers with frozen pepper stir-fry for convenience, and served it with bread and salad. The entire meal was ready in 20 minutes. You can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This recipe couldn't have been easier! I followed the recipe exactly and my 7 year old ate 3 helpings! Venison always sits in our freezer because I am too lazy to do all the weird things people recommend to get rid of the gamey flavor, but this recipe was sooooo easy that I will probably make it again soon. Thanks for the simple easy dinner idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Very Easy. Every Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is my husband's favorite for the old deer meet in the freezer. Because deer meet cooks very fast (at least here in texas) I barely browned them and let them finish cooking with the rice. I also finely chopped up onion and pablano peppers and added them (sauted first).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnieK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Delicious!! My husband and I both enjoyed this. I am always looking for different recipes for deer meat and this was a keeper. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States