Venison Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Great. Didn't even taste gamey. Will make again when we have venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was my first time cooking Venison. My husband's golf buddy brought him some from his hunting expedition. I was very reluctant about cooking it because I heard that after preparing the meat would taste "gamey". I looked around online and found out that soaking the meat at least 8 hours ahead of time would help get rid of the gamey taste. I let the meat soak in milk in the fridge the night before. I followed the recipe and everything turned out great! Me being me, I just added a bit more seasonings. Everybody loved it and can't wait for me to cook it again. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I received a rear roast of venison a family friend brought down in Wis. I made this recipe because I LOVE stroganoff & I had a surplus of cream of mush. soup & portabella shrooms Y-U-U-U-M. The ONLY difference is I did not drain the broth made from browning...I used fresh minced garlic and yummy vidalia onion. THANK YOU! I got rave reviews from my boyfriend and his friend! I will definately be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsweetburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Tom loved this. I added some sliced mushrooms to the chopped onions and sauted in olive oil and then set aside. I floured the meat, sauted it in oil and added seasoning while it was frying. Tom bought creamy portabello soup and when it was added to the pan with the rest of the ingredients, the flour thickened it up nicely. Added a little sour cream and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Very good recipe. I'm not crazy about deer, but my husband loves it and we always have some in the freezer. This receipe was so easy. I didn't even bother with sauteing the onions or browning the meet. I put it all in the slower cooker and went from there. We told the kids it was beef and they couldn't tell the difference. I didn't have egg noodles and used white rice instead. It worked out perfectly. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I too have made a similar recipe for years. It's a great hit with everyone I have served it to. (Even those that insist they DON'T LIKE VENISON!) I serve mine over baked potatoes, after cooking all day in the slow cooker, the meat is so tender it practically falls apart. Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make. I added some paprika and used cream of mushroom roasted garlic soup instead of the regular soup. Everyone loved the taste. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinez
Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
We have an abundance of Elk burger and I used it for this recipe. I really liked it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I liked it. I used low fat sour cream and soup so it wasn't the full flavor, but I still liked it. My husband didn't like the sauce though. Keep in mind, he's hard to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
With a few changes this recipe is wonderful! I used 'golden mushroom soup' instead of other (it makes a big difference), two heaping spoonfuls of sour cream 30 min before serving instead of other, and a can of sliced mushrooms all in the crock pot. Kept other stuff the same. Excellent over wide egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States