Venison Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Turned out really good. Will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was good, albiet very rich. I like another reviewer's suggestion of adding sherry during browning and I may try this next time (simmering the venison in the sherry for a little while). This may help the meat to soften up (ours was a little tough) and lose some of the gaminess that really came through in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Love using our venison anyway I can. I also added a bunch of mushrooms, sauteing them with the onions and fresh garlic first. Then browned the meat (dusted with flour and paprika). Put all of that with the soup and about a 1/4 cup of sherry in the crockpot. Finished it with 1/4 cup sour cream just before serving. Voila! It was soooo tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I wasn't all that impressed with this but was partly my fault. The venison was cooked perfectly and then I let it cook a few minutes longer and it got pretty tough. I thought the sauce was pretty bland so I cooked in a little red wine, Worstershire and then even a little Chulula for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
made this the way the recipe said the first time and I don't think I will do that again. All in all it was good and even my picky eater ate it but it needs something a little more. I I think that I will use only one can of soup and try roasted garlic and mushroom soup instead. I will also add a can of peas & mushrooms each. I will also try it in the crock pot instead of on the stove as the meat came out really tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great, easy recipe. Made this with canned dear meat so the whole thing took about 15 minutes total. Didn't have sour cream or egg noodles - served it over rice instead and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I have been making this same dish, thought mine was the only one, only I add Laury's Seasoning Salt to my venison while I am cooking it and sliced or canned mushrooms. Since I am lactose intolerant I don't add the sour cream! This is also really good with hamburger if you do not like venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cadott, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wabasha, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Great. Didn't even taste gamey. Will make again when we have venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was my first time cooking Venison. My husband's golf buddy brought him some from his hunting expedition. I was very reluctant about cooking it because I heard that after preparing the meat would taste "gamey". I looked around online and found out that soaking the meat at least 8 hours ahead of time would help get rid of the gamey taste. I let the meat soak in milk in the fridge the night before. I followed the recipe and everything turned out great! Me being me, I just added a bit more seasonings. Everybody loved it and can't wait for me to cook it again. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I received a rear roast of venison a family friend brought down in Wis. I made this recipe because I LOVE stroganoff & I had a surplus of cream of mush. soup & portabella shrooms Y-U-U-U-M. The ONLY difference is I did not drain the broth made from browning...I used fresh minced garlic and yummy vidalia onion. THANK YOU! I got rave reviews from my boyfriend and his friend! I will definately be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Reutiman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Hamburger Stroganoff

A meaty, creamy, pasta dish with mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States