Venison Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This was excellent. I used 2 cans soups and a can of skim milk. Also sauted a package of sliced mushrooms. Cooked it for 5-6 hrs in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Great recipe - added some sharp cheddar cheese to it as well - the whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gary L. Mace
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Everyone enjoyed this meal. I cooked the onion and venison as directed, but then put the venison, onion, mushroom soup, garlic powder and pepper into a crock pot and slow cooked it for a couple hours. That really helped to blend the flavors nicely. I skipped the sour cream but instead added a can of condensed milk as it slow cooked. The result was a very thick and tasty stroganoff. Slow cooking with the milk added allowed the lactic acid in the milk to help tenderize and tame the venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary L. Mace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
very good recipe. I ate this for lunch for a week straight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex Brisson
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Delicious!! And I made it with a side of boiled, roasted, and seasoned sugar beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
As a hunter this is awesome. Made a few changes, red wine while cooking the meat, shallots, thyme, roasted red peppers, mushrooms, egg noddles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Delicious recipe for deer! Added 4 minced garlic cloves to the pan when the meat was nearly cooked, as we are fans of the garlic/wild game taste. The only thing is that I found it way too thick after adding the mushroom soup. I ended up adding a cup of milk just to make it into a thick sauce, so it was a consistency where I could stir it. Also, with the salt in the soup, it was the perfect amount. I added none to the meat before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Oh Wow! This worked great. I used moose instead of venison but otherwise kept to the recipe. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I do not care for the taste of venison at all. I have found if you brine the meat a few days in advance, it tastes more like beef, and less like venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this with cold packed venison and it was deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States