Venison Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I let the deer soak in milk for about an hour before cooking. I used minced garlic (about 1 1/2 Tblsp). A few shakes of paprika, and sherry (to cover skillet) when I began sauteeing the onions. I added additional sherry when I put the meat in the skillet. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sage12177

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
easy to make and everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Husband and son thought this dinner was wonderful. I browned the meat and onions on the stovetop and then put the mixture in the crock-pot. Since we are not mushroom people, I only added 1 can of COM soup and added 1 can of CO Celery soup. Worked wonderfully (so I'm told), as I don't care for venison. I served over hot white rice as that is how my family likes stroganoff along with steamed broccoli. Cathy they loved this recipe and asked that I make it again sometime. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBug

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I would make this recipe again but with modifications. I would not use any onion made onion powder and I would add milk to the soup to thin it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made this recipe because we were all out of food (except for venison) and snowed in...I was skeptical about venison stroganoff simply because my husband is bery picky when it comes to venison. I have only found 3 different ways he actually likes it prepared. Now I am up to 4 thanks to this recipe! He LOVED it. Now I know more than 3 recipes, that freezer filled with venison won't go to waste! Oh and the kids ate it up as well....my son was surprised that it was venison! Take that picky eaters!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Turned out really good. Will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was good, albiet very rich. I like another reviewer's suggestion of adding sherry during browning and I may try this next time (simmering the venison in the sherry for a little while). This may help the meat to soften up (ours was a little tough) and lose some of the gaminess that really came through in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Love using our venison anyway I can. I also added a bunch of mushrooms, sauteing them with the onions and fresh garlic first. Then browned the meat (dusted with flour and paprika). Put all of that with the soup and about a 1/4 cup of sherry in the crockpot. Finished it with 1/4 cup sour cream just before serving. Voila! It was soooo tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I wasn't all that impressed with this but was partly my fault. The venison was cooked perfectly and then I let it cook a few minutes longer and it got pretty tough. I thought the sauce was pretty bland so I cooked in a little red wine, Worstershire and then even a little Chulula for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States