Venison Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This was excellent. I used 2 cans soups and a can of skim milk. Also sauted a package of sliced mushrooms. Cooked it for 5-6 hrs in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Great recipe - added some sharp cheddar cheese to it as well - the whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gary L. Mace
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Everyone enjoyed this meal. I cooked the onion and venison as directed, but then put the venison, onion, mushroom soup, garlic powder and pepper into a crock pot and slow cooked it for a couple hours. That really helped to blend the flavors nicely. I skipped the sour cream but instead added a can of condensed milk as it slow cooked. The result was a very thick and tasty stroganoff. Slow cooking with the milk added allowed the lactic acid in the milk to help tenderize and tame the venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary L. Mace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
very good recipe. I ate this for lunch for a week straight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex Brisson
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Delicious!! And I made it with a side of boiled, roasted, and seasoned sugar beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
As a hunter this is awesome. Made a few changes, red wine while cooking the meat, shallots, thyme, roasted red peppers, mushrooms, egg noddles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Delicious recipe for deer! Added 4 minced garlic cloves to the pan when the meat was nearly cooked, as we are fans of the garlic/wild game taste. The only thing is that I found it way too thick after adding the mushroom soup. I ended up adding a cup of milk just to make it into a thick sauce, so it was a consistency where I could stir it. Also, with the salt in the soup, it was the perfect amount. I added none to the meat before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Oh Wow! This worked great. I used moose instead of venison but otherwise kept to the recipe. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I do not care for the taste of venison at all. I have found if you brine the meat a few days in advance, it tastes more like beef, and less like venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this with cold packed venison and it was deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Hamburger Stroganoff

A meaty, creamy, pasta dish with mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States