Venison Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Turned out really good. Will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was good, albiet very rich. I like another reviewer's suggestion of adding sherry during browning and I may try this next time (simmering the venison in the sherry for a little while). This may help the meat to soften up (ours was a little tough) and lose some of the gaminess that really came through in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Love using our venison anyway I can. I also added a bunch of mushrooms, sauteing them with the onions and fresh garlic first. Then browned the meat (dusted with flour and paprika). Put all of that with the soup and about a 1/4 cup of sherry in the crockpot. Finished it with 1/4 cup sour cream just before serving. Voila! It was soooo tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I wasn't all that impressed with this but was partly my fault. The venison was cooked perfectly and then I let it cook a few minutes longer and it got pretty tough. I thought the sauce was pretty bland so I cooked in a little red wine, Worstershire and then even a little Chulula for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
made this the way the recipe said the first time and I don't think I will do that again. All in all it was good and even my picky eater ate it but it needs something a little more. I I think that I will use only one can of soup and try roasted garlic and mushroom soup instead. I will also add a can of peas & mushrooms each. I will also try it in the crock pot instead of on the stove as the meat came out really tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great, easy recipe. Made this with canned dear meat so the whole thing took about 15 minutes total. Didn't have sour cream or egg noodles - served it over rice instead and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I have been making this same dish, thought mine was the only one, only I add Laury's Seasoning Salt to my venison while I am cooking it and sliced or canned mushrooms. Since I am lactose intolerant I don't add the sour cream! This is also really good with hamburger if you do not like venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cadott, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wabasha, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Great. Didn't even taste gamey. Will make again when we have venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was my first time cooking Venison. My husband's golf buddy brought him some from his hunting expedition. I was very reluctant about cooking it because I heard that after preparing the meat would taste "gamey". I looked around online and found out that soaking the meat at least 8 hours ahead of time would help get rid of the gamey taste. I let the meat soak in milk in the fridge the night before. I followed the recipe and everything turned out great! Me being me, I just added a bit more seasonings. Everybody loved it and can't wait for me to cook it again. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I received a rear roast of venison a family friend brought down in Wis. I made this recipe because I LOVE stroganoff & I had a surplus of cream of mush. soup & portabella shrooms Y-U-U-U-M. The ONLY difference is I did not drain the broth made from browning...I used fresh minced garlic and yummy vidalia onion. THANK YOU! I got rave reviews from my boyfriend and his friend! I will definately be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsweetburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States