Venison Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Fan-feakin-tastic. This was my first time cooking with deer sausage, and I gotta say, I would gladly pay top dollar at any restaurant for big bowl of stew this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I floured the meat & sautéed in butter. Used carrots in place of parsnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Good and easy. I left out the parsnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Stew came out color less ,really not attractive looking dish ...flavour was ok . Next time I will add carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING! I used various cuts of the deer, and was worried that some would be tough as it was all very lean. I seasoned the meat as I coated it in flour and once I had seared it, I tossed in some merlot to scrap the flour reminents off the pan. I would HIGHLY reccomend doing this as it gives an amazing flavor to the meat and the broth. The meat was perfect and fell apart in your mouth. I put potatoes, carrots, peas, celery and whole wheat noodles in. I also used some extra flour at the very end to thicken it up a little, but only because hubby prefers it that way. This is a fantastic recipe and very forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Benning, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was delicious!!! Followed the directions exactly except I added 3 beef bouillons...and only two onions...but to tell you the truth the onions cooked away to nothing. I did thicken at the end with flour. Meat melted in your mouth!! A definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Amazing!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janejschmidgall

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mackinaw, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I've never been a fan of venison because I never liked the 'gamey' taste (probably wasn't prepared right!!) but I was given some by a friend and figured I'd give it a try with this recipe. All I can say is - when I tasted it after it simmered for 2 hours and was adding the potatos & carrots was - WOW! The meat was tender and falling apart and there was no gamey or strange taste! It was awesome! The only thing I did differently was I browned the meat in bacon grease instead of the oil, drained the grease off and then followed the rest of the steps (stir in onions, garlic, etc. etc.) I also simmered this in an electric skillet on low for the recommended time (should've used my crock pot!!) but it turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this yesterday and replaced parsnips with carrots. I was so wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States