Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kim M.
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very good, I did add peas and corn but followed the recipe other then that. I don't generally love venison, but my son and husband do. This made it very tender, and the flavor was great. Thank you, I will be using this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
this is the best venison stew I ever made. I did soak the meat in salt water for at least 4 hrs then rinsed it to remove the blood that was the only thing I did different, the venison was not gamey and tasted very good I will make this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
To get rid of gamey taste it is all in prep age your deer in fridge for 7-12 days then cut out all slivery tendons and all fat, seal or wrap in freezer bags and freezer paper , after cutting into small stew pieces and this recipe is amazing I added large egg noodles and cream of mushroom to make more liquid. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was AWESOME! Very,very good stew. I also used two cups of beef broth and one cup water vs.the three cups of water like some other folks. I also added about 1/3 cup of red wine and some green beans. I took my time adding the flour so it was just the right consistency. The meat was so tender, it melted in your mouth. To the one or two folks that comment on the "gamey" taste, I would suggest checking on your venison before blaming the recipe to see if the issues is with the meat. No recipe can fix that. I killed my buck on Saturday and very carefully processed him, to produce this awesome stew on Monday. Thanks to all for their input! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Baran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jolene Pace Arviso
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Delicious! ! Added my own twist to it but still a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene Pace Arviso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Great, easy recipe! Added some thyme and basil as well as three packets of beef bouillion! Delicious! Also substituted tapioca flour in an equal amount because we eat gluten free! No problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
We did not like this recipe. My husband made it. I double checked it because it was not a pretty brown like the pictures. And I still don't know how it would be anything other than a potato/watery/soupy mix with venison in it. And, that is what it was. So, I'm not even going to try to fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Absolutely delicious I didn't change a.thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Oatman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I've been processing and eating my own venison for many years . I made this with addition to two things - morel mushrooms I had kept dried , rehydrated and used the water from that to make brown gravy mix ...so rich and hearty. If your venison is "gamey" its usually because of poor handling before or while the meat is being processed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Busy cooking it now... smells delicious! I added 125ml french salad dressing after browning the meat - which is Kudu from SA! Let it reduce and then added half a diced green pepper with the onion and other ingredients. Surprising hubby, wish me luck. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States