Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Delicious! Didn't have Worchestershire suace, so had to sub. fish sauce. Was VERY yummy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Made this using pronghorn (antelope) instead of venison. Also had an open container of beef stock and used three cups of that instead of water. I am hesitant to rate with a superlative but it was excellent. I can think of and will try several variations: chicken stock instead of water; thyme or fresh rosemary instead of oregano; adding celery and/or quartered onions with the other veggies (I see v2 has done some of those things.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
excellent over a bed of wild rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Properly handled and prepared venison should never taste excessively gamey. I used this recipe with a deer I harvested last season and it was excellent. Instead of a skillet I used a slow cooker and cooked it for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was great! It turned out very tastey. I didn't think it would have much flavor because it doesn't call for much spice but I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
So tastey! The venison was tender and tasted perfect. I did not add potatoes to the mix but rather put the stew over mashed potatoes. It's a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The guys really enjoyed this dish. Hubby had alot of deer meat and I came across this recipe. Will use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
We liked this stew very well, but I'm mystified as to why no one has mentioned the obvious problem with adding 1 Tablespoon of salt to a stew with only 3 cups of liquid; that's a teaspoon of salt per cup plus whatever salt is in the Worcestershire sauce!!!! Yikes! I assumed it was a typo and added just 1 teaspoon. I also used 4 cups of beef broth and 1 cup of water to increase the liquid. Adding a stalk of chopped celery with the onions and a can of green beans with the veggies added even more flavor. Overall, a delicious winter stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! No gamey taste to it. I used cornstarch to thicken then liquid at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really great recipe, really tenderized the deer meat.YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nishnick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States