Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Was absolutely delicious. Even my wife who is not a big fan of venison liked it. Will definately make again. Was very easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Quite a good meal! I actually made this in double because I had four pounds of venison that I had defrosted (between a roast and a back strap). I actually didn't use the veg. oil, but rather cooked the venison in bacon fat (used an entire package for the double batch) and then also added 1 lb of celery and 2 packages of mushrooms. In addition, i used very little water, instead i used beef stock, and i also used prior reviewer's recommendations to use brown gravy mix instead of flour. I also added a few more spices (such as rosemary, basil, etc,) and used salt and pepper to taste. I have a great amount left for me and the roommate as well as some portions for family members. This is a great alternative to the chili I usually make. Great meal that everyone has raved about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is a great venison recipe. I used olive oil instead. And sautéed the onion and garlic (6 large cloves) with the venison with salt and course ground black pepper. Then put it in the crock pot with the rest of the ingredients and added a few tsp of "Better than Bullion" beef bullion and reduced the salt just a bit. Crocked on high for 5 hours Turned out tasty and tender. Absolutely no game taste. Yayyy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
this one of the best stews i have ever ate. when i make this the whole family is there to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very good stew-no hint of gaminess, and I was looking. I was also leery of adding Worcestershire sauce for fear that it would overpower the dish, but that was not the case. Cooked this on high for 4 hrs in a crockpot with a splash of red wine (imparted a full-bodied flavor) and a third of the salt (1t total); it would have been too salty except for the bed of noodles accompanying. I will certainly make it again, maybe with the addition of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I made this exactly as directed, minus the bay leaf (I never have liked the taste of bay leaves). I sautéed the onions with the meat for a few minutes before adding the water, and might add diced celery at this point next time. We ate it as is, and I would only serve it over rice or noodles if the potatoes were omitted. I might add some frozen peas near the end of cook time next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Loubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Helen, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
So simple. I was out of Worcestershire so I substituted 1/2 soy sauce and 1/2 A1. I didn't have potatoes and served in on top of kasha. Very tasty and so easy. I'll keep it as a standby. I did serve it to company and everyone liked it (very casual party).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very good, however, needed some more flavor. It was a little bland so I addded some Mrs. Dash. I used venison backstraps and the meat was GREAT and oh so tender!...Just add some xtra spice and then it becomes five star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is a great stew and easy to make. I took the advice of the other reviewers and used 3 cups beef stock and 1 cup red wine. I also added 1 8 oz can of tomato sauce, I usually add that to my beef stew. everyone loved it! I married into a big hunting family and my freezer is stocked with venison, this is a great meal! will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States