Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The guys really enjoyed this dish. Hubby had alot of deer meat and I came across this recipe. Will use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
We liked this stew very well, but I'm mystified as to why no one has mentioned the obvious problem with adding 1 Tablespoon of salt to a stew with only 3 cups of liquid; that's a teaspoon of salt per cup plus whatever salt is in the Worcestershire sauce!!!! Yikes! I assumed it was a typo and added just 1 teaspoon. I also used 4 cups of beef broth and 1 cup of water to increase the liquid. Adding a stalk of chopped celery with the onions and a can of green beans with the veggies added even more flavor. Overall, a delicious winter stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! No gamey taste to it. I used cornstarch to thicken then liquid at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really great recipe, really tenderized the deer meat.YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nishnick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This tastes better than the beef stew I've made in the past! I can't suffer even mildly tasting venison and this had none. However I did marinate the venison in a can of diced tomatoes for about 5 hours. I have been told the acid in the tomatoes breaks down the gamey taste. I think the tomatoes enhanced it wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Baumann-Ellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westernville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was a very good recipe, meat was tender and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I am not a fan of venison, but my entire family is... so I decided to try this in hopes that the garlic and onion would mask the gamey taste of the venison. It turned out great. Noone even realized it was venison and it was so tender. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
LOVED IT!!! I don't understand why people rate low because you can "still taste the deer" If you don't like wild meat, don't eat it! doesn't mean the recipe was gross! I ran out of worcestershire so i made a substitution with soya/hot sauce combo (yes this is a valid sub!) I also didn't have oregano and substituted it for italian seasoning instead. I seasoned my meat with garlic powder, seasoning salt and roasted red pepper flakes and browned it with the onions in a frying pan. I then put it all in a roaster and cooked it in the oven for an hour at 425. I cut my potatoes smaller as a personal preference and added the potatoes and carrots and popped it back in the oven for another half hour. This was an excellent recipe! The flavour is perfect,and the meat is extremely tender. Love it! will definitely make this again and again! thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this one yesterday and got great praise and everyone took seconds. Only changes were to soak in 1/2 cup vinegar and water to cover for 2 hours then soak in milk to cover overnight. Rinsed then followed recipe with slight changes. Did not have Worcestershire, used about 1 tsp coarse salt, water with enough beef bullion paste (low sodium) to make 3 Qt broth. I used more potatoes (9) and 2 LB carrots cut into about 2 - 3 inch pieces and split it too thick (more than 1/2 inch diameter). Served with hot cornbread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Good and will make again. I marinated the meat the night before. See Marinate for Venison this site. Discard marinate brown meat and cook in slow cooker (with liquids) for three hours on high. Then add veggies. Cook until done (3 hours high). Add thickening and season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States