Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
After initial brazing of the meat, once the blood cooked out of the meat, I rinse the meat in a colendar and removed nearly all the gameyness. Then finish brazing with the recommended recipe items. This came out A+ with no gamy flavor at all. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Avalon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This recipe is a KEEPER!!!!! My family LOVED it, which is a rare thing for EVERY member of my family to love it! I changed just a couple of things tho, I deglazed my pan with some red wine then added that all to the stew, I also added some corn about 2 cups, doubled the water and added 3 cubes beef bouillon, and also added some quick barley. This is an AMAZING stew, one you will LOVE and WILL make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I was saddened to read that some people didn't like the "gamey" taste of fresh game meat. There are many ways to keep that taste down if you know your guests are fussy. After you defrost your meat [I keep mine in the freezer so it always tastes fresh] put it in a bowl, cover with salted water, cover and leave it in the ice box all night. The next day rinse off the meat and and use it anyway you like. You will be surprised I think. It is always delicious. Oh yes, this recipe is marvelous. I have served it many times and the people don't even know they are eating deer!! If they ask I am glad to tell them, but they usually don't. Happy eating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Tasted fantastic! This is a great use for venison roast cuts- comes out nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe was ah-mah-zing! Don't change a thing :) For any nay-sayers, if the meat is gamey that is not the recipe that is the deer! I soak my deer in milk the night before and that can help with the gamey flavor if you have a gamey deer. Also, you could put in crockpot in milk on warm for a couple hours before cook time. Sometimes deer takes longer to cook since sometimes they have more game flavor. The 2 we got this year are not gamey at all thank goodness. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lemmon, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very Delicious! One of the best stews I have ever made especially considering this is my first try at venison... A neghbor brought me up some fresh venison and this turned out amazing added mushrooms and used a brown gravy pack instead of flour/water at end yummmm! Anyone who didn't like this obviously cant follow a recipe or think outside the box by adding personal touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Changed the recipe slightly as far as volume of certain ingredients but it tasted awesome, and would definitely recommend and make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I never leave reviews but I had to leave this one because it was excellent. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Worth more than 5 stars!! I followed exact save 1 onion, and this was so tender and GREAT! Maybe helps having fresh deer? Killing and dressing correctly also makes a world of difference in taste. This is a repeat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was a very tasty stew. I received some venison stew meat( 330 Grams) from a friend and had no idea how to make it. Followed the recipe almost to a T, but halved the recipe and exchanged some of the potato for turnip cubed, added about a teaspoon of 'better than bullion', sauteed the meat, oil and, onions and garlic together. Then I put 2 1/2 cups water and let it simmer on low for almost 3 hours while we were at church. It was so tasty and not gamey at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3tocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States