Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
AWESOME! As a fairly newlywed to a hunter and having not grown up in a family with guns, let alone hunting, let's just say eating deer has not been my favorite time (even moreso as a former vegetarian). I'm the person at the dinner table that if I think too hard about what I'm eating is an animal, I get a gag-reflex. Needless to say, respecting the deer and finding recipes I can swallow has been a bit of a task. We've tried jalapeno burgers with lime mayo, bacon wrapped grilled backstrap, and all other combinations. I've found some to be edible, but this TASTED GREAT! It was better than any beef stew I've ever had, and I actually enjoyed every bite, going back for seconds. I finally have found a recipe that makes me say, "I love eating Venison". The meat was tender. We served it with egg noodles. Now I finally know what we'll do with all that deer meat in the freezer. I cannot thank you enough for this recipe. I have cooked using online recipes for years and never felt the need to rate one. This recipe caused me "sign up" just to rate it. If you don't think you like venison or think it's too gamey, you should try this recipe first. It was also very easy, especially on the weekend when I was doing other things, just letting it simmer. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I've never rated anything on this site before, but this stew was so absolutely fantastic that I must tell the world about it. Served a giant pot of it at a party last night, and I was getting anxious that I might not have any yummy left overs. I even dreamt about it in my sleep -- it was just that good. If you're planning to cook this, I'd say adding even more vegetables wouldn't hurt; mine came out a bit meat heavy (but delicious!). Also, when combining the last bit of flour and water, make sure it's stirred evenly in a separate bowl before adding to the stew to get that smooth gooey texture. Ok writing this review is making me hungry. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I think it's sad someone gave this zero stars because THEY don't like venison flavor. As a VENISON stew (which is gamey, come on folks) it was excellent! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I added about a tablespoon each of Thyme and Rosemary in addition to the Bay leaf (I used about a tablespoon of dried bay leaves). I increased the water from 3 cups to 6 cups which meant I doubled the flour and water to thicken it. I also added 3 cans of drained corn, lima beans and peas. This recipe is awesome. My mom even loved it and she is really picky about deer meat. Said there was no gamey taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Made a couple small changes, added a touch of Chili Powder to the spice mix as well as diced tomatoes. Less water because of the liquid in the Tomatoes and it was Delich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hopkinton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
excellent. we both loved it. will use beef stock instead of water next time but great the way its written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELBABY33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Perfect recipe I really enjoyed my stew ... Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME! I am in the process of cooking it now in the crock pot. I haven't even put in the potatoes & carrots & it already tastes delicious! Thank you for sharing this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was really good. I made minor changes: I marinaded the meat for a few hours first; beef stock instead of water and salt; used less onion; added celery and mushrooms; Italian season instead of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
For people who don't hunt. Would not know that you must soak your venison in cold water to get the blood out of the meat. That is what causes the gamey taste. We process our own deers and the quarters are soaking while I am processing other parts of the meat. Try it sometime, you will never know it was venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States