Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Basic recipe is spot-on. For those who like a more robust flavor, substitute 1/2 Cup red wine and 2 1/2 Cup beef broth for the water. I also added the carrots after 1.5 hours of cooking (for a total of 2 hours on the stove),and omitted the potatoes from the stew. Served this over mashed potato with gremolata (parsley,garlic,lemon zest, minced together) on top for those who like an extra pop. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
The "gamey" aspect of the venison has nothing to do with the recipe, but reflects poor preparation of the venison. It needs to be frozen after butchering, then thawed and washed/soaked in cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I added 1 cup red wine in place of the 1 cup of the water. I used it to clean the pan bottom after browning the venison. I then simmered the stew for 2 1/2 hours on the wood burner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This recipe is phenominal. I have made it 6 times now. I substituted the venison out for Moose when I ran out of deer. I put in an extra splash of worchester and more oregano than it calls for, because I feel it adds a bit more flaver, to my liking. The meat always ends up falling right apart like a long-smoked roast when its finished cooking. When possible, instead of browning the meat in a pan, I throw it in some tin foil with oil and worchester and smoke it with apple chips for about an hour. I think this helps add flaver to the meat that lasts through the simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
After initial brazing of the meat, once the blood cooked out of the meat, I rinse the meat in a colendar and removed nearly all the gameyness. Then finish brazing with the recommended recipe items. This came out A+ with no gamy flavor at all. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neeceeusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Avalon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This recipe is a KEEPER!!!!! My family LOVED it, which is a rare thing for EVERY member of my family to love it! I changed just a couple of things tho, I deglazed my pan with some red wine then added that all to the stew, I also added some corn about 2 cups, doubled the water and added 3 cubes beef bouillon, and also added some quick barley. This is an AMAZING stew, one you will LOVE and WILL make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I was saddened to read that some people didn't like the "gamey" taste of fresh game meat. There are many ways to keep that taste down if you know your guests are fussy. After you defrost your meat [I keep mine in the freezer so it always tastes fresh] put it in a bowl, cover with salted water, cover and leave it in the ice box all night. The next day rinse off the meat and and use it anyway you like. You will be surprised I think. It is always delicious. Oh yes, this recipe is marvelous. I have served it many times and the people don't even know they are eating deer!! If they ask I am glad to tell them, but they usually don't. Happy eating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Tasted fantastic! This is a great use for venison roast cuts- comes out nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe was ah-mah-zing! Don't change a thing :) For any nay-sayers, if the meat is gamey that is not the recipe that is the deer! I soak my deer in milk the night before and that can help with the gamey flavor if you have a gamey deer. Also, you could put in crockpot in milk on warm for a couple hours before cook time. Sometimes deer takes longer to cook since sometimes they have more game flavor. The 2 we got this year are not gamey at all thank goodness. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lemmon, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very Delicious! One of the best stews I have ever made especially considering this is my first try at venison... A neghbor brought me up some fresh venison and this turned out amazing added mushrooms and used a brown gravy pack instead of flour/water at end yummmm! Anyone who didn't like this obviously cant follow a recipe or think outside the box by adding personal touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States