Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I love venison and have made stew many times. The secret to removing the gamey taste of venison is to brown it in a little vinegar. Also, it does depend on where the deer is shot (location). Plains deer have a less gamey taste than mountain deer that eat pine needles. It takes a little while to get used to venison, but now that I have, I'll never go back to eating beef. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I am a chef I use this site for a base then I add my ingredients. when u coo deer meat u can soak in beer and Italian dressing or red wine it will take out the game taste. I hear people complain about deer meat. i hunt deer i been eating deer meat since I was young. When u make stew. the stew meat is a muscle so u braised it for a couple of hours and the muscle tissue will break down.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was excellent! I had two small deer roast and soaked them over night in vinegar and water, cut into chunks and marinated in vinegar and water again, another 24 hrs. until water turned clear (have to change it several times) I coated the deer meat in 1/4 flour (maybe a little more) and browned it up with onions and garlic, I used 3 cups of unsalted beef stock (can't have a lot of salt)added meat after browning then added one can of unsalted diced tomatoes(with oregano, basil and garlic) Worcester (had enough salt from this) sauce 2 TBS, oregano, 2 bay leaves, cooked the venison for an hour in pot then added chopped carrots, cooked about 40 mins added potatoes and celery cooked another hour. it thickened up nicely as it cooked didn't have to add any thickner....family loved it was all gone! I will definitely make this again excellent recipe could not tell it was venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMath617

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
My family did not care for this. They told me not to make it again. I think it was the oregano that just gave it an off flavor. Will just have to stick to my regular old recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theweedeater
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This recipe was right on for us! I used stock that I made from leftover chicken, the venison trimmings and two mashed tomatoes instead of the water and cut out the flour entirely. I also only used two potatoes and added yellow squash and zucchini from the garden in place of the rest. Also tripled the garlic and Worcestershire. Everything came out perfect. Perfect consistency, perfect juicy meat, right salt balance, perfect. As for everyone complaining about "gamey" flavor... It's venison. It's game. Learn to love it or go back to beef. Don't eat a potato and complain that you can't get it to taste like an apple. Personally, I think that flavor is the beauty and character of venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theweedeater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
It was alright. I had a beautiful cut of venison though. I had to add cornstarch to mine because it didn't thicken like a stew with the flour. I also added a little beef stew mix to it. I browned mine and put it into the slow cooker for 8 hours. For those that don't like the gamey taste, why the hell would you buy a game meat? Geez
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
First time using this recipe and loved it! Always have venison in the freezer and will definitely be cooking this again. Must have been a hit with my boys too, as there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Best Venison Stew EVER! Well actually, it was the first time I made it. So delicious! I used the crock pot on low, took around 30 minutes prep time, (prepared at noon) and by 6PM it was done! I didn't soak the venison overnight, just rinsed it in cold water and salt before I browned it in the frying pan. No wine needed, just put a bit of water in with the worcestershire sauce to deglaze the pan for that nice brown gravy. Put the veggies in at the get go. Then before serving I turned up the crock pot to high, mixed the flour and water to thicken the stew, added that, five minutes later it was ready! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Basic recipe is spot-on. For those who like a more robust flavor, substitute 1/2 Cup red wine and 2 1/2 Cup beef broth for the water. I also added the carrots after 1.5 hours of cooking (for a total of 2 hours on the stove),and omitted the potatoes from the stew. Served this over mashed potato with gremolata (parsley,garlic,lemon zest, minced together) on top for those who like an extra pop. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
The "gamey" aspect of the venison has nothing to do with the recipe, but reflects poor preparation of the venison. It needs to be frozen after butchering, then thawed and washed/soaked in cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States