Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Great, easy recipe! Added some thyme and basil as well as three packets of beef bouillion! Delicious! Also substituted tapioca flour in an equal amount because we eat gluten free! No problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
We did not like this recipe. My husband made it. I double checked it because it was not a pretty brown like the pictures. And I still don't know how it would be anything other than a potato/watery/soupy mix with venison in it. And, that is what it was. So, I'm not even going to try to fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Absolutely delicious I didn't change a.thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Oatman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I've been processing and eating my own venison for many years . I made this with addition to two things - morel mushrooms I had kept dried , rehydrated and used the water from that to make brown gravy mix ...so rich and hearty. If your venison is "gamey" its usually because of poor handling before or while the meat is being processed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Busy cooking it now... smells delicious! I added 125ml french salad dressing after browning the meat - which is Kudu from SA! Let it reduce and then added half a diced green pepper with the onion and other ingredients. Surprising hubby, wish me luck. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Delicious!!! I have to start off saying that I am not a venison person, however, my husband loves to hunt so we have a freezer filled with venison meat. I have been extremely nervous about cooking venison because I've had it in the past and it was terrible. Just awful!! My husband said that the meat was not prepared or cooked properly. After reading some reviews I soaked the meat in water for 15 minutes to get rid of the blood (thank you Dina). I then marinaded the meat for 2 hour in my homemade Italian marinade. I followed the recipe from there. I did add celery along with the carrots & potatoes as well as a can of corn the last 10 minutes of cooking. I added those vegetables because I have a 3 & 1 year old who loves corn and celery. They gobbled up the stew. The 1 year old had thirds along with my husband. I was extremely surprised with how tender the meat was and how tasty this dish was. Going to be making this again & again!!! Thank you Buchko!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I have been trying different recipes for cooking deer for 4 years. My husband is an avid hunter and loves venison. I've found the winner! He asked me how I made it because he has never in his life had it any tastier. He said it was perfect! I'm so happy to know I finally found "the one". I didn't make a stew though I just cooked exactly as written minus adding veggies but used onion with the meat. He prefers it this way rather than a stew. I usually slow cook a roast. I wonder if this recipe could be adapted for a roast? I'll try it next time. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was excellent, hearty and full-flavored. I followed the recipe exactly except that I added about 1 tsp. chilli powder and 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper for a little more kick. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I didn't have any worcestershire sauce so I skipped it and it still turned out great! I used vegetable bullion mixed with the water for some added flavor and ended up using more water than the recipe called for (although I think I also had more than 2lbs of meat). Overall excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have meant to leave a review but kept forgetting! This is delish! I only usually like ground venison and breakfast sausage. I read the reviews and soaked in milk sometimes up to an hour but not always that long. I have made this several times, shared the recipes with others who all loved it. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States