Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
This is my go-to venison stew recipe. It always turns out great. I recommend using yukon/yellow potatoes so the potatoes do not disintegrate into the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Yesterday I made this recipe and it was a whole success. The meat was delicious but also the potatoes and the carrots. I put organic baby carrots cut in half. Then, when the recipe was done, I added a few more cut in half as well, and let them cook by themselves until my husband came home, hours later. I have to say that my husband was delighted with it. He asked me again and again if I had ever cooked venison before, and I kept on telling him NO. He even bowed and made the reverence , LOL, and asked me to make it this way again but with beef. So I want to thank you for the ingredients, sometimes it is just that simple, instead of adding lots of ingredients. It was amazing and I have not yet told him I found the recipe here :D but I will! Thanks to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Wonderful! Except for adding some fresh parsley, I followed the recipe. The venison was extremely tender and the stew itself tasted great. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Maher
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Great recipe. It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Very easy and simple but delicious! When I added the other veggies I also added a can of diced tomatoes with the juice and I shook the meat in flour before browning and then omitted the flour later. But followed the recipe otherwise and it was amazing! Would definitely make again!!! Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
My husband and I made this recipe last night. We thought it was very good, but plain. I'm giving it 5 stars because my 7-year old daughter LOVED it, and asked for seconds. She usually won't eat anything with ingredients that are mixed together. If you are looking for simple, warm, comfort food, this recipe perfectly fits the bill. NOTE: Use either doe meat or a young (button) buck if you want yummy venison meat without having to soak in milk or rinse a million times. IMO big bucks taste awful, and I only use them for sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was wonderful! The whole family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
As a full time resident of New York City, I don't get a chance to cook venison very often. This year a hunter friend from work gave me some venison stew meat and I sought out this site for a reliable and good recipe as always.. I was so rewarded with this one!!! It was easy to prepare with cabinet staples and very good and tasty.....As Dina mentioned in her 2011 review you must always soak the meat in cold water...My North Carolina grandmother taught me to do that plus add salt to the water which you frequently change until the water is clear....I allow about 8 to 24 hours of soaking before preparing any venison recipe...Do this and you will have a fabulous dish every time.... This one is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kevin W
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I had a large crowd so I used 3 pounds of venison chili grind, cut up 4 large potatoes,2 cans of sliced carrots, 1 can of peas - then I doubled all the other ingredients and ended up at the end thickening the stew by using three quarters cup of flour and three quarter cups of water. For the meat I used 2 cups of water, and then added 6 cups of beef broth. I personally don't care for onions, so I blended them up along with the garlic,with 2 cups of the water I used. I just served them with bisquits. Very good,everyone was happy with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim M.
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very good, I did add peas and corn but followed the recipe other then that. I don't generally love venison, but my son and husband do. This made it very tender, and the flavor was great. Thank you, I will be using this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States