Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I didn't have any worcestershire sauce so I skipped it and it still turned out great! I used vegetable bullion mixed with the water for some added flavor and ended up using more water than the recipe called for (although I think I also had more than 2lbs of meat). Overall excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have meant to leave a review but kept forgetting! This is delish! I only usually like ground venison and breakfast sausage. I read the reviews and soaked in milk sometimes up to an hour but not always that long. I have made this several times, shared the recipes with others who all loved it. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was so easy and had a great result. I followed the directions except for the water which I replaced with Campbell's beef stock. I also rolled the meat in flour before browning to make a gravy easier to make. The meat simply melted and had a lovely rich flavour. I will make this one of my favourite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waitakere , Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I followed the excellent suggestion to soak the meat in milk, used beef broth and red wine in place of water, and added celery. Also added some dried shiitakes with the water they were soaked in. The result tasted more like a good beef stew than venison - not at all gamey. Served with crusty bread. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is a great stew. Most of what I hear about venison being gamey is the fact of where your deer come from and what they eat. Here in the middle of Wisconsin are deer are grass and corn fed like cattle and taste just great. The northern deer eat acorn and whatever and taste very gamey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I made this in the crockpot for 4 hours on high with buck steaks. I rinsed the buck steaks in cold water before starting and added all ingredients to the pot after browning the meat in a skillet with onion and garlic. I only had 1 onion (added some onion flakes), 2 potatoes, and added celery. Very good, not gamey, tender meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjwellscvt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is the best recipe I have ever found, SUPER EASY, takes few ours of summering but the flavor is so great. In from Wisconsin so this is perfect for our cold nights/days. This will forever be being passed down in my family :-)) thanks allrecipes !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegO21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Was fantastic just the way it was. A few additions here or there depending on how I feel could only make the stew better. Delicious venison beets fatty, steroid injected beef any day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My husband loved this! I put this in the crock pot after browning the meat and and onions, and cooked on high for 1 hour and low for 5 hours. I added the carrots and potatoes after after 3 hours, and thickened with water and cornstarch about an hour before serving. I also substituted a can of beef broth, a half cup of burgundy wine and a half cup of water for the initial 3 cups of water. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. It's just my personal preference. I will definitely make this again! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States