Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
My husband and I made this recipe last night. We thought it was very good, but plain. I'm giving it 5 stars because my 7-year old daughter LOVED it, and asked for seconds. She usually won't eat anything with ingredients that are mixed together. If you are looking for simple, warm, comfort food, this recipe perfectly fits the bill. NOTE: Use either doe meat or a young (button) buck if you want yummy venison meat without having to soak in milk or rinse a million times. IMO big bucks taste awful, and I only use them for sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was wonderful! The whole family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
As a full time resident of New York City, I don't get a chance to cook venison very often. This year a hunter friend from work gave me some venison stew meat and I sought out this site for a reliable and good recipe as always.. I was so rewarded with this one!!! It was easy to prepare with cabinet staples and very good and tasty.....As Dina mentioned in her 2011 review you must always soak the meat in cold water...My North Carolina grandmother taught me to do that plus add salt to the water which you frequently change until the water is clear....I allow about 8 to 24 hours of soaking before preparing any venison recipe...Do this and you will have a fabulous dish every time.... This one is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kevin W
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I had a large crowd so I used 3 pounds of venison chili grind, cut up 4 large potatoes,2 cans of sliced carrots, 1 can of peas - then I doubled all the other ingredients and ended up at the end thickening the stew by using three quarters cup of flour and three quarter cups of water. For the meat I used 2 cups of water, and then added 6 cups of beef broth. I personally don't care for onions, so I blended them up along with the garlic,with 2 cups of the water I used. I just served them with bisquits. Very good,everyone was happy with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim M.
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very good, I did add peas and corn but followed the recipe other then that. I don't generally love venison, but my son and husband do. This made it very tender, and the flavor was great. Thank you, I will be using this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
this is the best venison stew I ever made. I did soak the meat in salt water for at least 4 hrs then rinsed it to remove the blood that was the only thing I did different, the venison was not gamey and tasted very good I will make this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
To get rid of gamey taste it is all in prep age your deer in fridge for 7-12 days then cut out all slivery tendons and all fat, seal or wrap in freezer bags and freezer paper , after cutting into small stew pieces and this recipe is amazing I added large egg noodles and cream of mushroom to make more liquid. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was AWESOME! Very,very good stew. I also used two cups of beef broth and one cup water vs.the three cups of water like some other folks. I also added about 1/3 cup of red wine and some green beans. I took my time adding the flour so it was just the right consistency. The meat was so tender, it melted in your mouth. To the one or two folks that comment on the "gamey" taste, I would suggest checking on your venison before blaming the recipe to see if the issues is with the meat. No recipe can fix that. I killed my buck on Saturday and very carefully processed him, to produce this awesome stew on Monday. Thanks to all for their input! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Baran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jolene Pace Arviso
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Delicious! ! Added my own twist to it but still a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene Pace Arviso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Great, easy recipe! Added some thyme and basil as well as three packets of beef bouillion! Delicious! Also substituted tapioca flour in an equal amount because we eat gluten free! No problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States