Venison Steak with Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Excellent. Did not have meat tenderizer so used seasoned salt and a bit of sugar. Omitted extra salt. Kids all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
wow, made this double and can not believe how tender the steak came out. followed the recipe exactly, except added a clove of garlic and accidentally put in a mildly hot pepper that got mixed in with the bells that we planted last year and froze. the spice was perfect. The marinade made the steak so tender could cut it with a spoon. spooned the steak and sauce over some boiled potatoes and carrots and ummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Funny, I am the submitter of this recipe, and I don't recall putting Morton's curing salt on the list of ingredients! LOL! Guess they're a sponsor here. You can use any meat tenderizer, like Adolph's. I've also used red wine in the place of the sherry, just add a tiny bit of sugar to the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tema, Greater Accra, Ghana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My whole family thought this was very good. I used about 2 lbs. of venison tenderloin, cabernet instead of sherry and I added sliced fresh mushrooms with the other vegetables. I wanted more gravy so I used a total of 32oz. of beef broth which I thickened with cornstarch. The meat was fork tender and delicious. I served this over buttered egg noodles with fresh baked bread to sop up the gravy. Will definately make this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was actally really good, even the kids loved it. I could eat this like a fajita as well, just wrap it up in a tortilla shell and you can eat it anywhere!! Thanks for the recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. I did add more wine and beef broth to the skillet when making the gravy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Renfrew, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
We eat alot of venison and I marinate the meat in milk overnight. It helps to take the gamey taste out and it tenderizes at the same time!! This recipe sounds wonderful and I will be making it soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I made this last night and no lie you can not tell its venison. My husband loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zmzuehls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lishcamper
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Yummy, added different colored peppers and one jalapeño for some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was really good, I didn't use the curing mixture, I used a dry white wine instead of sherry, and used a little flour for thickening instead of corn starch. The meat was really tender, I served it over pasta. My picky 2.5 year old ate it all and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States