Venison Steak with Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Funny, I am the submitter of this recipe, and I don't recall putting Morton's curing salt on the list of ingredients! LOL! Guess they're a sponsor here. You can use any meat tenderizer, like Adolph's. I've also used red wine in the place of the sherry, just add a tiny bit of sugar to the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tema, Greater Accra, Ghana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cyndi
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was a great way to cook venison - I omitted the curing salt as I did not have any and didn't think it would need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was tasty, but the meat was not as tender as I would have liked. I couldn't find curing salt. I used regular table salt and I don't know if this had any affect on the tenderness of the meat. I like more gravy so I used a 14oz can of beef broth(minus what I used for the marinade). In step four after I put the remainder of the marinade into the pan I added the beef broth. I used Wondra gravy flour and thicken to taste. I served this over buttered noodles. Overall, a very good recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
wow, made this double and can not believe how tender the steak came out. followed the recipe exactly, except added a clove of garlic and accidentally put in a mildly hot pepper that got mixed in with the bells that we planted last year and froze. the spice was perfect. The marinade made the steak so tender could cut it with a spoon. spooned the steak and sauce over some boiled potatoes and carrots and ummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was actally really good, even the kids loved it. I could eat this like a fajita as well, just wrap it up in a tortilla shell and you can eat it anywhere!! Thanks for the recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I found out at the last minute that I didn't have dry sherry, curing salt or steak seasoning, but I proceeded with the recipe. I had about 2 lbs of venison steaks to contend with and it turned out really well. Unfortunately there were a few tough pieces, but that wasn't the recipes fault. It was very good, and I would make this again. Family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
We eat alot of venison and I marinate the meat in milk overnight. It helps to take the gamey taste out and it tenderizes at the same time!! This recipe sounds wonderful and I will be making it soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
GOOD BUT VERY SALTY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa1983

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is an awesome recipe for venison. I've cooked it several times now and my husband loves it. The only thing I would change is making more sauce and cutting back on the salt. The soy sauce makes up for the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. I did add more wine and beef broth to the skillet when making the gravy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Renfrew, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States