Venison Pot Roast and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
We love venison, so my husband gets a little upset when I mess it up. This recipe was soooooo good! The gravy was different, but went great with the roast and potatoes. I'm definitly adding this to my recipe book. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Yum! Made it as written. Used a Montreal steak seasoning mix. Stirred in the chili powder then the minced garlic. Put some on the bottom of a 9X9 pan, layered thin slices of venison and seasoning then poured on the broth. The gravy was very thick, added some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very good. Cooked in the form of a 1/2-2lb roast, med rare, pulled it out of oven when meat thermometer reached 140 degrees. Perfect with the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yum! I did my own thing to make the gravy and cooked it a bit longer just because I had the time. I like the idea of slicing it first...it cooks faster and the outside doesn't get overdone. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Hubby loved this recipe and it was really easy... the gravy turned out fabulous... I usually can't make gravy-- it was delicious and hunter hubby approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Wow, we've been cooking venison for a few years. This is a great recipe!! I don't know what grill seasoning is, so i used salt and pepper with chilli. I had no garlic powder either. Otherwise I followed instructions as some of the reviews, I cooked it at a low temp in my wood stove for over two hours it was very tender and the gravy was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was fabulous! I have eaten venison all my life and this is by far my favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I used venison tenderloin and followed the recipe except for substituting olive oil for the butter. The flavour was excellent; the meat was tender in 50 minutes and the gravy was perfect. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks, Ron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Wonderful Roast. I never liked venison but can't even tell it is venison with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
O.K. let me just say I dont like venison, but we get it given to us. I have tried it many ways but this works! I made it in the crock pot, left it whole, and smothered it with sliced onion along with the rest of the ingredients listed. I checked it every hour with a meat thermometer, because I didnt know how long to cook it and it took it out at 130. It was fabulous! Please give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States