Venison Italian Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This recipe is fabulous. Just a couple of changes: I used cubed venison. Also, I added a green pepper. I cooked the pasta separately and just added it to each bowl individually. That way the pasta does not expand quite so much. I added a little olive oil when browning the venison (it's so lean). A complete meal! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Loved this soup. I did add more broth and topped with some Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
We really loved this but will probably cook the pasta separately next time only because the pasta did not do well after freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
The flavor in this is really great. My only problem was the consistancy. I prefer a more brothy soup. I added about 3 cups of extra broth, omitted the green beans, carrots, and zucchini, and it was STILL as thick as chili. Next time I'll have to use even more broth and less noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This is amazing! My husband is an avid hunter and so I always have venison in the freezer. Getting me to cook it was like pulling teeth....lol....I decided to try this because of the excellent reviews it got. Everyone loved it including me! I did modify it a little bit! Used 2 cans of beef broth instead of water and potatoes and carrots instead of the beans...I did use all of the seasoning as in the recipe. It was very tasty! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
First time I have ever cooked or ate venison. The recipe was perfect for ground venison...like a veggie "chili mac." Subbed green peppers that had to get used up for green beans and used macaroni. Meat wasn't bitter or gamey, but gave the dish an interesting spice and heartiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Great soup! Green beans felt a little out of place with the whole recipe and I will probably exclude them next time around. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I really did not like this at all. It was bland and had a strange taste that I couldn't identify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Whitsitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I've read over this recipe a million times, and STILL can't figure out what I did wrong! :o(. All of my measurements were correct but my finished product had more of a chili consistency than that of soup. It still tasted very good, but I had to cook the pasta separately instead and it made more of a meat sauce than the soup we were looking forward to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KChristy927

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Very good. I used a can of Italian style stewed tomatoes and left out the pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States