Venison Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
This is a great recipe for deer meat,it's delicious! I used 2 lbs of meat with the quantity of herbs and spices that the recipe says but definitely needs more than 2 tbs of olive oil,I also marinated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna Lyles
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I added more red wine vinegar to help tenderize the meat. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
All I could taste was cumin and wild meat....not a fan at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I used this recipe for ground beef minus the oil and cooked it up taco style, it was amazing. I loved it. I used goat cheese and Roma tomatoes and alfalfa sprouts and spinach in my kronos pita bread. My husband likes to add a little chopped onion and cucumber sour cream sauce. A go to recipe for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Esculano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Family loved it! My only modification was to use 1.5 lb. ground venison instead of steak strips. I let it marinate for about an hour. While very, very good, next time I will increase the marinade time and add more spice, by perhaps about a third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I love gyros, and venison but was very unsure of this at first. It was AMAZING!!!! Tip - don't skip the spices! Each one makes the difference in the dish. Especially the cumin, rosemary and marjoram! I added some homemade Tzatziki Sauce (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/tzatziki-sauce/), lettuce, tomato, onion and feta and I was in heaven!! Don't forget the greek salad on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Covington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Fabulous! We did us lamb instead of venison because that is what we had on hand. The flavors were perfect and replicated the sandwich we usually buy at a local Greek restaurant. This has become one of our family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, and everyone in my family was impressed. I have also tried this recipe with beef... also exceptional. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My second time using this recipe with beef and I love the flavor it gives it. Perfect for gyros. I don't believe I would change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This was great! I did use ground venison like a previous reviewer. I made meatballs with this recipe, then after baking I simmered in beef broth with garlic, onion, and oregano. For low carb I dipped these in a yogurt sauce. My husband ate them in a pita bread with extra onion and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States