Venison Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
brilliant. creative. inspiring. thank you! I have a freezer full of venison from my father in law and this recipe will be a smash all winter long! I love the spices, but will play with them this winter. I'm thinking jamaican allspice along with the cumin. cool cucumber yogurt/sour cream sauce is a must. I am going to search for more of your recipes. keep it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I just keep eating this and I am more of a fish or chicken person!! I thinly sliced a backstrap and marinated the meat for about 6 hours.I cook a lot of venison and this recipe is going to be made year round. I can't wait to be able to throw some on the grill. YUM I served the meat on Artisan flat bread with sour cream and raw onions as a garnish. But the meat is sooooo good all by itself that garnish is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Delicious loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Absolutely loved this recipe! My husband even said it was better than our local Greek-owned gyro restaurant. I used pork tenderloin instead of venison, and substituted 1 tablespoon of Greek seasoning mix per lb. of meat instead of the spices. I will definitely be making this again. I also used the cucumber sauce recipe on here, eliminating the mustard (since a Greek reviewer said mustard is not authentic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
great flavor, I used this to make venison donaires-added monteray jack cheese, hot peppers and onion. I will use this ratio of spices for many meats-I think it woud taste great on shrimp or prok tenderloin kabobs-thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I served mine with a cucumber sauce made of crushed cucumbers, sour cream, and garlic and it was amazing! We also topped it with fresh onions and feta cheese. I also stabbed the meat a lot before I cooked it to make it nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
EXCELLENT use of venison. I marinated overnight, added the common accompaniments, tomatoes, onions, tzatziki sauce. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Boy, did I have happy people at the table last night when I fed them these gyros! I'd never cooked venison before so was a little intimidated when my husband went deer hunting in his Volvo station wagon (Now called the Deer Slayer). THIS RECIPE ROCKS! The only change I made was to use fresh instead of dried rosemary. I marinated the meat maybe 5 hours. It was very quick to stir-fry, and then I served it with "Peppy's Pita bread" and "Duke" sauce, both from this site. Yum - what a meal. Wish I'd had some bozouki music going! Oh - this marinade & cooking method would probably work for just about any boneless meat you have handy. Do try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is the best!! My family and I could not stop eating this. All the leftovers went also. I think this will become a family favorite and I have been sharing the recipe. One tip; I cut the meat when still partially frozen. It is much easier to get the 1/4 inch cut this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erowkneeus
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Loved the marinade! We have a freezer full of venison so we are always looking for new ways to prepare it. We added, as a garnish, a dill and Greek yogurt sauce (1 cup Greek yogurt, tbsp lemon juice, tbsp dried dill, dash of garlic powder and a dash of salt.) We also topped with tomato and fresh green pepper. We liked it so much we submitted a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erowkneeus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States