Venison Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I served mine with a cucumber sauce made of crushed cucumbers, sour cream, and garlic and it was amazing! We also topped it with fresh onions and feta cheese. I also stabbed the meat a lot before I cooked it to make it nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Boy, did I have happy people at the table last night when I fed them these gyros! I'd never cooked venison before so was a little intimidated when my husband went deer hunting in his Volvo station wagon (Now called the Deer Slayer). THIS RECIPE ROCKS! The only change I made was to use fresh instead of dried rosemary. I marinated the meat maybe 5 hours. It was very quick to stir-fry, and then I served it with "Peppy's Pita bread" and "Duke" sauce, both from this site. Yum - what a meal. Wish I'd had some bozouki music going! Oh - this marinade & cooking method would probably work for just about any boneless meat you have handy. Do try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I just keep eating this and I am more of a fish or chicken person!! I thinly sliced a backstrap and marinated the meat for about 6 hours.I cook a lot of venison and this recipe is going to be made year round. I can't wait to be able to throw some on the grill. YUM I served the meat on Artisan flat bread with sour cream and raw onions as a garnish. But the meat is sooooo good all by itself that garnish is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erowkneeus
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Loved the marinade! We have a freezer full of venison so we are always looking for new ways to prepare it. We added, as a garnish, a dill and Greek yogurt sauce (1 cup Greek yogurt, tbsp lemon juice, tbsp dried dill, dash of garlic powder and a dash of salt.) We also topped with tomato and fresh green pepper. We liked it so much we submitted a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erowkneeus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made this last night for a hungry crowd and everyone - even the picky eaters - was happy. I used chicken fried steak cut venison b/c that is mostly what is left in my freezer at this point, but it still turned out great. Served w/ a yogurt sauce made of 1C nonfat plain greek yogurt, 1/3C minced cucumber, and 1tsp (each) of dried basil, onion powder, and lemon pepper. Really nice to have a hot summer-appropriate way to serve venison rather than the usual heavy soups, stews, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is the best!! My family and I could not stop eating this. All the leftovers went also. I think this will become a family favorite and I have been sharing the recipe. One tip; I cut the meat when still partially frozen. It is much easier to get the 1/4 inch cut this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This recipe rocks..... Used antelope instead of deer and it was awesome. Make cucumber gyro sauce to go with it. Both quick n easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Delicious and easy! I used the tip end of a venison tenderloin, sliced it thinly while it was still partially frozen, and cooked it on a very hot griddle in batches. Served with all the regular gyro accompaniments (tzatziki sauce, feta, onion, tomato.) A real hit with the family. (P.S. - Venison is not something I usually have, but was given some by my son's co-worker. I'm sure it would be great with either lamb leg or beef tenderloin.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by egardenut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I followed everything as directed but used lamb instead of venison. The flavor of the marinade was excellent, and the lamb was as tender as I've ever had. I would've give this a 5th star if it also had a cucumber sauce to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I have been trying various recipes using venison. My husband really liked this one. The only thing I did different is adding sliced onion, when cooking. I served in pita bread, with fresh tomato wedges, raw thinly sliced onion, Tzatki (or however you spell that cucumber yogurt garlic sauce) and cumin-spiced rice. Will make again when i have venison OR beef strips to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States