Venison Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Boy, did I have happy people at the table last night when I fed them these gyros! I'd never cooked venison before so was a little intimidated when my husband went deer hunting in his Volvo station wagon (Now called the Deer Slayer). THIS RECIPE ROCKS! The only change I made was to use fresh instead of dried rosemary. I marinated the meat maybe 5 hours. It was very quick to stir-fry, and then I served it with "Peppy's Pita bread" and "Duke" sauce, both from this site. Yum - what a meal. Wish I'd had some bozouki music going! Oh - this marinade & cooking method would probably work for just about any boneless meat you have handy. Do try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Absolutely loved this recipe! My husband even said it was better than our local Greek-owned gyro restaurant. I used pork tenderloin instead of venison, and substituted 1 tablespoon of Greek seasoning mix per lb. of meat instead of the spices. I will definitely be making this again. I also used the cucumber sauce recipe on here, eliminating the mustard (since a Greek reviewer said mustard is not authentic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
great flavor, I used this to make venison donaires-added monteray jack cheese, hot peppers and onion. I will use this ratio of spices for many meats-I think it woud taste great on shrimp or prok tenderloin kabobs-thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I followed everything as directed but used lamb instead of venison. The flavor of the marinade was excellent, and the lamb was as tender as I've ever had. I would've give this a 5th star if it also had a cucumber sauce to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
EXCELLENT use of venison. I marinated overnight, added the common accompaniments, tomatoes, onions, tzatziki sauce. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
brilliant. creative. inspiring. thank you! I have a freezer full of venison from my father in law and this recipe will be a smash all winter long! I love the spices, but will play with them this winter. I'm thinking jamaican allspice along with the cumin. cool cucumber yogurt/sour cream sauce is a must. I am going to search for more of your recipes. keep it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I served mine with a cucumber sauce made of crushed cucumbers, sour cream, and garlic and it was amazing! We also topped it with fresh onions and feta cheese. I also stabbed the meat a lot before I cooked it to make it nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I just keep eating this and I am more of a fish or chicken person!! I thinly sliced a backstrap and marinated the meat for about 6 hours.I cook a lot of venison and this recipe is going to be made year round. I can't wait to be able to throw some on the grill. YUM I served the meat on Artisan flat bread with sour cream and raw onions as a garnish. But the meat is sooooo good all by itself that garnish is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Delicious loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States