Venison Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I've made this exactly as written three or four times now. And my family devours it. I stuff it inside Peppy's Pita Bread (found on this website) and pour Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce (also found on this website) on top. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudwifeandmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Awesome! My whole family loved these! I used venison backstrap and round steak and it was so tender and could have been mistaken for beef. Served on pitas with greek yogurt sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Awesome. Fresh Tomotes served with it, really added to the awesomeness. (And a good cucumber/yogurt sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I marinated these for several hours, but the marinade was a little dry so I added some milk, they turned out awesome! My husband said considering it was venison they still tasted pretty authentic. I'm not a huge gyro person but I did enjoy them. We served them with tzatziki sauce that I made between two recipes on this site. My husband was raving about them, though, and I had several people ask for the recipe. One of the people made it a couple nights later, true to recipe, and her family also raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I have been trying various recipes using venison. My husband really liked this one. The only thing I did different is adding sliced onion, when cooking. I served in pita bread, with fresh tomato wedges, raw thinly sliced onion, Tzatki (or however you spell that cucumber yogurt garlic sauce) and cumin-spiced rice. Will make again when i have venison OR beef strips to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Make with cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
We have lots of wild game in our freezer--venison and elk--and I'm always looking for something new to do w/ it. This recipe is truly amazing! I served the gyros w/ diced fresh tomatoes and a cucumber sauce I made. This will be one of our dinner favorites from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Unbelievably delicious! All four of my boys went back for seconds--a phenomenon akin to a sighting of Halley's comet. A cucumber sauce (as another reviewer recommended (thank you!), strips of red onion, and grated feta cheese are must-haves to make this dish truly remarkable. This recipe will surely help me use up the deer meat in our freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This turned out great, I will for sure make it again. I used a backstap and sliced it very thin while it was still half frozen. I served it with lettuce, sauteed onions, a creamy ranch sauce, fine cut cucumbers, and pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This recipe rocks..... Used antelope instead of deer and it was awesome. Make cucumber gyro sauce to go with it. Both quick n easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States